Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2018, 11:47 PM   #1

New Tires for Tow Vehicle

I'm new to camping and pulling a TT so I apologize if this question has been asked. I've searched for the past few hours and just can't find the answer. I have a 2005 Chevy 1500 Z71 that needs new tires. The tires I have on it are Bridgestone Dueler A/T size P265/70/R17. I have aluminum rims. The rating on the tire side wall says 113S; 2535 lbs at 44 psi max. The front GAWR is 3925 lbs and the rear GAWR is 3750 lbs. My TT has a max weight of 7600 lbs. Vehicle GVWR is 13,000. I purchased the TT new last March and didn't have any problem towing the TT with these tires. With all of that said, I've been pricing tires and a majority of the salesmen have given a price for a 10 ply (E) rated tires. A couple who carry the tire I currently have also gave me a price for those tires. My question is do I need to change to a 10 ply tire or will the tire I currently have, but newer, be safe. I was pretty set on getting the 10 ply from just talking with the salesmen but as I've been doing more research a big concern came to attention. The max air pressure could be to much for my rims. I don't know what the max air pressure for my rim is either. So do I need to upgrade to the 10 ply or just buy the same tires that I already have. Thanks in advance. Scott.
Triple S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 11:52 PM   #2

I'm not an expert but I was told by many to have 10ply.
DerekQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 01:25 AM   #3

What's more important is that you stay within the towing specifications of your TV. The OEM tires that your vehicle came with will be fine, but you need to stay within the payload capacity of your TV. See the sticker inside the drivers side door for this number. Putting 10ply tires on your vehicle will not increase your payload. Hope that helps.