Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-08-2019, 03:18 AM   #21

Quote:
Originally Posted by metroplexchl View Post
One thing I just cannot wrap my head around is why we're told to level the trailer and THEN open the slide? It doesn't make sense to me to level the thing, then slide out this huge weight 3-4 ft and then expect it to be level still.....

But as I said, I'm a newbie!
It's mainly to protect the slide mechanism. You may overload the slide mechanism or motors if your asking it to push it uphill a significant amount. And your right, If you start level and then put your slide out as most of the manufactures require, your likely going to be out a little bit.

Frankly, If it get it pretty darn close the other way and then run your slide(s) out and your level, your not going to hurt anything.

I think the main reason they tell you to level first is so somebody doesn't run their slides out with their camper 3" or more high or low on the slide side with the nose still cranked up 10" from level front to back from unhitching the trailer.

Kinda of a McDonalds, "This coffee is HOT thing" if you catch what I'm saying.
Old 05-08-2019, 05:42 AM   #22

After awhile many of us learn to set up with the slide out side a bit high so that it levels up once opened. Either way there is going to be a bit of uphill for the slide mechanism.
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 05:45 AM   #23

Once again I need to replace the cheap bubble level on the front of the TT. When new, the bubble was about a 1/4" wide. Looking at it yesterday and the bubble is about 2" wide now. There is never any evidence of leakage and they just seem to dry out.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 10:14 AM   #24
Denver To Yuma In 90 Days

Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post