Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2018, 02:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
caseymyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,505
RAM 5500 TPMS on Isata 5

Can an owner please describe the information shown in the Instrument Cluster Display, about tire pressure and temp on the Ram 5500 Chassis used on the Isata 5. I just ordered a unit and I'd guess that it would be built on an 2017 Chassis and I'm curious as to how well the Chrysler TPMS keeps track of tire pressure and temperature. I've had blow outs in an RV and they are not fun.

Thanks,
Casey
caseymyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 10:13 PM   #2
Failure is my business
 
2Evil4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Slaughter, LA
Posts: 561
FWIW the tpms integral on my 2017 3500 is pressure only. It does show all 6 wheels and is spot on to my gauge.
__________________
Current vehicle list: 17 RAM 3500 4x4 Cummins Aisin 4.10, 16 Flagstaff 832IKBS, 14 RAM 1500 4x4 Hemi 3.92 Bilstein 5100's Derale oil cooler, 97 F150 4x4 5.4L 278,000 miles, 80 Firebird Esprit Aussie Burnout Car https://youtu.be/v06VjII7HmE, 78 Harley Davidson FX 79,000 miles dad bought new, 71 El Camino ZZ3 TH400 12-Bolt, 37 Ford 3 window 502 Chevy dad built
Days Camped: 2016: 43, 2017: 83, 2018: 44, 2019: 78
2Evil4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 06:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Lins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 1,001
Same with my 2500, pressure only. My guess is because truck tires, bearings and brakes are better quality and more reliable and don't tend to run hot like on trailers.
__________________
2007 Rockwood 2701SS
2017 Ram 2500 Granite Crystal SAP Laramie 6.7L
2014 Triumph Bonneville. NH Togas, tuned
1953 GMC 9314
1982 GoldWing Interstate
Lins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 11:57 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Ram 5500 TPMS on Isata 5

Hi Casey, did you take delivery on your Isata 5? My 36DS is scheduled for April 7. Very excited. Iím interested in your questionódid you find that tire pressure is shown on your instrument cluster? Iím a new RVer. Any other suggestions are welcome!
Thanks,
Larry
Larry NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2018, 10:50 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by caseymyers View Post
Can an owner please describe the information shown in the Instrument Cluster Display, about tire pressure and temp on the Ram 5500 Chassis used on the Isata 5. I just ordered a unit and I'd guess that it would be built on an 2017 Chassis and I'm curious as to how well the Chrysler TPMS keeps track of tire pressure and temperature. I've had blow outs in an RV and they are not fun.

Thanks,
Casey
I have an Isata 5 36DS 4x4 on order and was investigating putting on a TPMS. When I asked my local tire guy if he could do it, he said that the RV should already have a TPMS on it. However, lot's of owners talk about adding TPMS to the RVs. What is the capability of the original TPMS and what is the benefit of upgrading like everyone discusses? Seems to me that since pressure and temperature are related on a tire that monitoring the pressure would be adequate. Does the dash display pressures (or are the readings navigable from the vehicle messaging center). Is there a monitor that I can purchase that uses the original sensors in the tires? Can you program you're own upper/lower alarm limits? I'm trying to decide whether I need to spend the extra money for a different system. Any advice is appreciated!
RedSteelManUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 09:20 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Pod2Vibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Foresthill, CA
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by caseymyers View Post
Can an owner please describe the information shown in the Instrument Cluster Display, about tire pressure and temp on the Ram 5500 Chassis used on the Isata 5. I just ordered a unit and I'd guess that it would be built on an 2017 Chassis and I'm curious as to how well the Chrysler TPMS keeps track of tire pressure and temperature. I've had blow outs in an RV and they are not fun.

Thanks,
Casey
Has anyone confirmed a basic stock TPMS on the RAM 5500 chassis?

I see info stated for TPMS in the RAM owners manual and it does not say "optional" like the other items say that we did not get on the SLT version.

I don't see anything in the on board computer referring to tire pressure, though, so I am assuming no.
__________________
Pod2Vibe
Magnetic 2019 Isata 5 30FW 4X4 (arrived 2/15/19)
TOAD: 2014 Fiat 500 Abarth

2015 Solera MBS 24R - Hellwig/Sumo Equipped, Sold
(Sold the Vibe TT, as well)
Pod2Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 12:27 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
caseymyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pod2Vibe View Post
Has anyone confirmed a basic stock TPMS on the RAM 5500 chassis?

I see info stated for TPMS in the RAM owners manual and it does not say "optional" like the other items say that we did not get on the SLT version.

I don't see anything in the on board computer referring to tire pressure, though, so I am assuming no.
No. Many of the I5 folks have added the TST TPMS. You can set warnings for pressure and temperature, nice color monitor, they work well. There are several threads on here about them. I have them on mine but I'm going to switch to a different brand. I have them on an add on the FROG classifieds.
__________________
Old Navy Chief
2019 Isata 5 DS 4x4
2015 Jeep Rubicon Toad
Days camped in I5 2020 = 3 COVID restricted
caseymyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 12:30 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
caseymyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,505
I have a '17 chassis, so I can't vouch for a later model year.
__________________
Old Navy Chief
2019 Isata 5 DS 4x4
2015 Jeep Rubicon Toad
Days camped in I5 2020 = 3 COVID restricted
caseymyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 10:50 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Pod2Vibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Foresthill, CA
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by caseymyers View Post
I have a '17 chassis, so I can't vouch for a later model year.
Thanks for the info, Casey.

Anyone with an '18 out there?

In the '18 owners manual it shows it has it.

Does the '17 manual?
__________________
Pod2Vibe
Magnetic 2019 Isata 5 30FW 4X4 (arrived 2/15/19)
TOAD: 2014 Fiat 500 Abarth

2015 Solera MBS 24R - Hellwig/Sumo Equipped, Sold
(Sold the Vibe TT, as well)
Pod2Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 11:11 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
caseymyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pod2Vibe View Post
Thanks for the info, Casey.

Anyone with an '18 out there?

In the '18 owners manual it shows it has it.

Does the '17 manual?
The '17 manual says that the 2500 and 3500 might have it as an option, no mention of a 5500. Call a dealer you trust and ask them to look it up, or take a VIN number from one of the '19's for sale somewhere and do an options search? If you are interested in a TST with the color monitor PM me.
__________________
Old Navy Chief
2019 Isata 5 DS 4x4
2015 Jeep Rubicon Toad
Days camped in I5 2020 = 3 COVID restricted
caseymyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
500, tpms

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.