Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-18-2013, 06:08 PM   #1

Cleaning the windows on a Flagstaff Popup

I have a Flagstaff T12RB and does anyone have any input as to what to use to clean the windows? Is it safe to use Windex, which has ammonium in it or a mild soap and water, like Dawn and a cloth, or an all purpose cleaner? My bubble windows are covered with Springtime sap, which can get quite heavy here in S.C., from oak and pine trees and before I clean them, I want to be sure I don't damage or scratch the windows. I have no experience cleaning plastic windows.

Thanks,

Jim
jjdcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 09:16 PM   #2

Only thing we ever used on our popup windows when we had it was this:
Introducing Plexus Plastic Cleaner Got it at a boat supply store.
Worked great and never scratched the plastic. Use a soft cotton cloth or better yet a microfibre cloth.
Wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 09:30 PM   #3
2012 Micro Lite 21 FBRS

+1 on the Plexus. Don't use Windex! I understand that it may discolor the plastic window. With the popup closed (latched for storage or travel) we used Oxyclean on our fiberglass exterior and vinyl roof. It did a great job of removing Pecan tree grime.
Guapotims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:33 PM   #4
daydreaming about camping

FYI our manual that came with our flagstaff pop-up recommended using soapy water and a soft towel ONLY.

Windex will do bad things to vinyl Windows.

I am sure there are safe products for vinyl Windows, but Windex its not one.

2013 Coachmen Freedom Express 320BHDS pulled by a 2005 F250 King Ranch CC

A rainy day camping is better than a sunny day at work.
jeeplj8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:59 AM   #5