Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-15-2021, 03:19 PM   #1

Disable Battery Charger

How can I disable the battery charger in my a122bh?

I have a solar system and a 1500W inverter, I would like to plug the trailer into the inverter and use the inverter as needed, but I don't want the trailer to attempt to charge the battery while the solar is doing the same thing

Because if i am inverting the 12V into the trailer, I don't want the battery to be charging itself off it's own power (if that makes sense)
z0mbieSt0mp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 06:00 PM   #2
OYO

I'm no expert here, but I don't think the power converter charges the battery unless it's plugged into 110.

How are you wiring your inverter? I would think you need a switch between the inverter and controller.

This forum is full of info on RV electronics: https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f218/
OYO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 06:21 PM   #3
2012 Solera

Flip the converter circuit breaker off (assuming your unit has a separate converter).
JLeising is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 06:28 PM   #4
OYO

This is an A-Frame subforum. The OP is adding an inverter (not OEM). There's no such breaker i know of.
OYO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2021, 08:02 PM   #5

yes. what i'm saying is, I have an inverter that I want to plug the entire trailer into... it's the battery that comes with the trailer, so it's wired to the camper AND the solar kit AND the inverter

Since my trailer charges it's battery when plugged into 110, I need to not allow that to charge the battery as the battery would be, essentially, charging itself off it's own inverted power

i wouldn't be running anything too heavy off it, but would be nice to have
Old 05-15-2021, 08:41 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by z0mbieSt0mp View Post