Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-26-2021, 09:14 PM   #1

First Post... Need help with Camper Purchase!

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie on here but will hopefully be here to stay if all works out with my camper purchase on Friday. I have a few questions, and hopefully get a few recommendations.

So, I drive a Subaru Forester. Tow capacity is 2,400 lbs and tongue weight of around 250 lbs. I'm looking at a Flagstaff T12RB. Empty weight is around 2,050 lbs and tongue weight of 220. I know I have to account for gas in the tanks, which will take my tongue weight up to let's say 270 lbs. I'm about 20 lbs over, not including the battery.

I plan on loading a lot of stuff in the rear compartments to help bring the tonque weight down. Right now, the battery would be located behind the LP Tanks. There is no battery there yet. What is the possibility of sticking the battery or batteries in the rear hatch and running a cable up to the front of the RV? I know there's amperage loss to consider and I'd have to use a pretty large gauge wire to make this work, but is it feasable?

I have to find a way to get the tonque weight down or just pass on it. I'm just soooooo close to getting there. I read how overseas the same Subaru Forester has a 4,000 tow capacity and 400 lb tongue weight but here it's lower, I guess because America is a sue happy country. I can understand that they group all terrain, types of drivers, etc in rating a vehicle's capacity because the car could handle a little differently. I live in VA, the piedmont. It's pretty flat.

If I end up being 50 lbs over with my tongue weight, is that a deal breaker or should I press on? My gross vehicle weight is still fine and the gross camper weight will be fine. The only thing that's a little off is the tonque weight.