Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-09-2022, 11:26 AM   #1

Gas Strut Roof Modification Backing Plate

I know it has been a long time since my last post here. I finally have all the hardware and gas struts for my modification following Trailer Texan's measurements. I am not sure how big of a backplate it requires. I have a 2" wide 1/8" aluminum flat bar that I was going to use for this. Would a 3" piece of this be enough? I am not an engineer and do not know exactly how much surface area is required to distribute the force. Does it need to extend to structural support?

Thank you for any insight.

Dadroach
Dadroach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2022, 12:30 PM   #2

cut a piece of white cutting board from a cutting board like at walmart in the kitchen supplys. tough as steel, shapable easy to drill. its my go to material for spacers shims. Doesnt glue well, but sealable with silicone.
Thomas ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2022, 03:21 PM   #3

Dadroach

Having replaced the lift motor with gas struts myself, I understand your question.

From an engineering perspective, the bolts for the strut mounts are going to be primarily in shear, not compression or tension. The A-frame wall is pretty weak in point shear (screws easily pull out or wallow sideways), but much better in overall shear forces because the aluminum frame is taking some of the load. Therefore, I sought to make a clamp with the strut mount and backing plate to spread the load. Both strut mount and backing plate should carry the shear load of the mounting bolts. I used #10 machine screws, and 1/4" plywood backing plate with 3/4" flat washers on the inside of the camper to attach the lower strut mount. The plywood is maybe 2" x 3", no need to make a whole lot bigger than the strut base. I caulked and tightened the screws to just start to visibly dimple the outer fiberglass surface.