Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2016, 02:54 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,297
Flame adjustment

The flame on my hot water heater smokes up the side of the trailer. I will try to adjust. Does smoke indicate too much or too little air? Do I open or close the shutter?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20161028_131034.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	229.0 KB
ID:	124075  
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 02:58 PM   #2
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Too little air. I would also check that the burner is properly located.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 04:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,297
Well I think I spotted the problem. The shutter to adjust the air intake is missing, meaning it is running wide open and taking in too much air. I will call Suburban next week and see if I can get a replacement part.

Thanks
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 04:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
Well I think I spotted the problem. The shutter to adjust the air intake is missing, meaning it is running wide open and taking in too much air. I will call Suburban next week and see if I can get a replacement part.

Thanks
Non of them have an adjustment for the burner, check your pressure of the regulator should be between 11.5 and 12.0... PS: stop by a propane dealer they can set it using a water column.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 06:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witch Doctor View Post
Non of them have an adjustment for the burner, check your pressure of the regulator should be between 11.5 and 12.0... PS: stop by a propane dealer they can set it using a water column.

I think they all have a sliding shutter to adjust air inlet for altitude change. The gas burner is fixed and gas pressure fixed at 11" of water column.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 06:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,297
It appears it had a shutter that you turned to open or close. There is a groove that looks like it held it. I will check with a propane place or call manf.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 06:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
It appears it had a shutter that you turned to open or close. There is a groove that looks like it held it. I will check with a propane place or call manf.
There is no shutter on mine and I did hvac so i do know what to look for. Propane has to to be set at 11.5 to 12" in a a water column . Go out and
look at your unit, you will not see one,,, PS: if the pressure is not correct it causes a yellow flame tip which causes black smoke from non combustion. Also you change the flame by the orifice for different altitudes
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 05:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,297
There is no shutter. I thought they all had them. I will get it checked.
Thanks.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 07:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
There is no shutter. I thought they all had them. I will get it checked.
Thanks.
You are more then welcome, but get your pressure checked, all propane burners should be set at 11.5 inches in a water column the propane Company have a water gage to do it with...
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 07:46 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
I think they all have a sliding shutter to adjust air inlet for altitude change. The gas burner is fixed and gas pressure fixed at 11" of water column.
They do not, and propane needs to be adjusted to 11.5 inches, if your going into a high altitude you will need a different orifice...
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 03:20 PM   #11
Member
 
spaach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 85
Atwood units have the shutter. Suburban does not have a shutter. To make it worse suburban has a whole replacement burner for high elevation but it is not adjustable either. Normally I see pressures in the 13" to 14" lock off. The 11.5" to 12.5" should be about where you are if you set the primary to 13" to 14". 14" is the top, it should never be set to lock off above that.
spaach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2016, 09:20 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,569
Found multiple suppliers on line carrying retrofit burner tubes with integral shutter, probably far eastern supply. Still for the flexibility probably a good investment. Looks like original equipment and easy to install for Suburban WH
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 12:48 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
Found multiple suppliers on line carrying retrofit burner tubes with integral shutter, probably far eastern supply. Still for the flexibility probably a good investment. Looks like original equipment and easy to install for Suburban WH
Never did understand why suburban did not use burner tubes with shutters, you think it would be a no brainer..
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 03:57 AM   #14
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 29,277
We have this problem pop up a lot. It can be caused by spiders making nests in the burner tube and/or dirt dobbers.

The fix may be as simple as cleaning the burner tube.



Camco builds (or used to build) a tool just for this problem.

https://www.amazon.com/Camco-09103-B.../dp/B000EDQQ9C
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If people could burn calories from jumping to conclusions, obesity wouldn't be a problem.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 12:06 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,297
Problem resolved!

At the suggestion of my propane man I removed the tube and cleaned it. It was 3/4 plugged with a dirt dobber nest! WMTire noted above this is a recurring issue. Hopefully others will see it.

I have a screen oner the air intake for the space heater. I suppose I need to see there is some type of screen for the water heater as well.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 12:11 PM   #16
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 15,942
Glad you found it and reported back.

*HERE* is one such screen for the water heater.

__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel•Goodyear Endurance Tires•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '17=38 '18=49 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 12:33 PM   #17
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
Problem resolved!

At the suggestion of my propane man I removed the tube and cleaned it. It was 3/4 plugged with a dirt dobber nest! WMTire noted above this is a recurring issue. Hopefully others will see it.

I have a screen oner the air intake for the space heater. I suppose I need to see there is some type of screen for the water heater as well.
Put screen wire on the inside across the vent and also on the ac cover on top as well as the inside of the refrigerator cover vent. Instead of putting screen wire on the inside of the ac cover, I covered the entire area from the compressor to the condenser.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenwire on refrigerator compartment door.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	351.6 KB
ID:	124333   Click image for larger version

Name:	Water Heater Door.JPG
Views:	74
Size:	145.4 KB
ID:	124334  
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 12:40 PM   #18
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 29,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
Problem resolved!

At the suggestion of my propane man I removed the tube and cleaned it. It was 3/4 plugged with a dirt dobber nest! WMTire noted above this is a recurring issue. Hopefully others will see it.

I have a screen oner the air intake for the space heater. I suppose I need to see there is some type of screen for the water heater as well.
Excellent, glad you got it resolved and thanks for reporting the solution. Yes, as noted in my post, this is a common problem that can happen.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

If people could burn calories from jumping to conclusions, obesity wouldn't be a problem.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 11:22 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,297
I decided to make my own screens as OldCoot did above. I used aluminium screen and metallic foil duck tape to withstand the heat.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20161102_100934.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	340.3 KB
ID:	124524  
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 02:01 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
I decided to make my own screens as OldCoot did above. I used aluminium screen and metallic foil duck tape to withstand the heat.
I can understand what you did and why, but if that's a picture of the screen you used to me it will not really keep anything out. you need alot smaller mesh. Just My opinion. You would need screen door screening. And if someone says that the same size I used they just haven't had any bugs crawl in yet.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.