Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2019, 04:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Max49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 68
Furnace and AC Thermostat

My 2018 Georgetowns' thermostat on goes down to 60 degrees, no lower. That's about the max I would turn the furnace up to. 40 or 45 degrees is good to keep the water lines from freezing. 60 degrees would drain my propane tank over night.

I guess this is another engineering marvel.

How have you guys taken care of this problem?
Thanks, Max
Max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max49 View Post
My 2018 Georgetowns' thermostat on goes down to 60 degrees, no lower. That's about the max I would turn the furnace up to. 40 or 45 degrees is good to keep the water lines from freezing. 60 degrees would drain my propane tank over night.

I guess this is another engineering marvel.

How have you guys taken care of this problem?
Thanks, Max
If you have the somewhat standard Coleman thermostat with the slide bar, just replace with a digital.

While I don't have a Georgetown I did have the same complaint with the T-stat in my Micro Lite. Slide control only went to 55. I just went out this afternoon and set the temp down to 40 degrees on the replacement digital T-Stat I picked up from Amazon. Looked exactly like the Coleman unit that I removed with wires matching perfectly.

Just what I did to solve my issue. Will of course depend on what kind of t-stat you have in your Georgetown but I'm fairly certain there is a digital one made that will work.
__________________
"A wise man can change his mind. A fool never will."

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 10:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Max49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 68
My T stat is digital but controls the furnace, heat pump, fan speed and AC so may not be an easy swap out , unless , it'd be nice if FR came out with a direct replacement with 45 degree T stat
Max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 11:08 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,907
If you provide t-stat manufacturer and a pic, and model number if you have it, someone can probably provide a replacement that would work.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 11:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max49 View Post
My T stat is digital but controls the furnace, heat pump, fan speed and AC so may not be an easy swap out , unless , it'd be nice if FR came out with a direct replacement with 45 degree T stat
Check the manufacturer's (of the t-stat) website and see what they offer. Try to identify the part number. If you have the owner's packet for the trailer it should have a manual that might help you ID the stat as well.
Then search the net for "upgrades". I believe there is a company called "RV upgrades" and I saw a list of various thermostats that were for RV's that had AC, Heat Pump, Furnace like yours.

Most of the listings on Amazon for replacement RV Thermostats will tell what model thermostat they will replace and what systems they are compatible with.

As for FR coming out with a direct replacement, you might be faster to just run one down on the net.

Might also contact places like e-trailer and Hannah RV. Both sell a lot of replacement and upgrade parts online.
__________________
"A wise man can change his mind. A fool never will."

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 06:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,268
Be careful, if yours is a dometic you just can't use any different stat with out some rewire, if it is Dometic and I bet it is, it's best to call them and see what you can do, if it's a Colman, then any stat will work. You should say what stat it is or even a picture that could help in the advice aera.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 10:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Max49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 68
Thanks guys, I'll look at it again tomorrow and see if I can find a name on it.
I'm in Denver and the way theyve been talking, we're in for the perfect storm of the century tomorrow. And we're planning to cross the Rockies to go to Moab Ut Fri night.

I called Forest River to see if they had an updated thermostat that goes down to 40- 45 degrees.
He called me back; but it's pretty sad that they seem to hire people who seem to have no life experience at all.
He said oh I don't even think it would work at all with a 45 degree T stat. Maybe he grew up in the Caribean
Max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 03:00 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max49 View Post
Thanks guys, I'll look at it again tomorrow and see if I can find a name on it.
I'm in Denver and the way theyve been talking, we're in for the perfect storm of the century tomorrow. And we're planning to cross the Rockies to go to Moab Ut Fri night.

I called Forest River to see if they had an updated thermostat that goes down to 40- 45 degrees.
He called me back; but it's pretty sad that they seem to hire people who seem to have no life experience at all.
He said oh I don't even think it would work at all with a 45 degree T stat. Maybe he grew up in the Caribean
I was in my RV tonight, I have a single zone H/P, the dometic digital stat go's down past 45 degrees, so dometic does have them, call them. You can also find them on line, the last time I seen them they were about 70 bucks. If it is a multi zone stat you could have a problem, because of the slave stat.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 07:19 AM   #9
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max49 View Post
My 2018 Georgetowns' thermostat on goes down to 60 degrees, no lower. That's about the max I would turn the furnace up to. 40 or 45 degrees is good to keep the water lines from freezing. 60 degrees would drain my propane tank over night.

I guess this is another engineering marvel.

How have you guys taken care of this problem?
Thanks, Max
Sounds like you want to use the low heat setting while the MH is not in use. A quick, simple and cheap solution is to place an electric heater(s) in the unit. They are very easy to control temperatures.
__________________
2018 Forester 3051S (aka Clyde)
2015 Wrangler Toad (aka Bonnie)

At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 10:05 AM   #10
Member
 
Max49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 68
I took a picture but I need a website to host it to.

It's an Atwood

https://s3.amazonaws.com/cd-content....e07eb5ce2e.pdf
Max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 06:50 PM   #11
Member
 
Max49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 68
A frend told me the easiest way would be to put a 2nd Thermostat just for the furnace and the other one would still control the AC, fan speed and heat pump.
Does any one what color wires would be for the furnace? Hopefully it is an industry standard.
Max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 07:09 PM   #12
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max49 View Post
A frend told me the easiest way would be to put a 2nd Thermostat just for the furnace and the other one would still control the AC, fan speed and heat pump.
Does any one what color wires would be for the furnace? Hopefully it is an industry standard.
Maybe, if one could get and understand why the appropriate wiring diagrams. I wouldnít touch it because the wall unit integrates the operation of the heat pump and furnace. Turning the furnace on disables the heat pump, and if the heat pump canít keep the temperature within a certain range (four degrees, I think) then the furnace will automatically come on...even though itís not selected.
__________________
2018 Forester 3051S (aka Clyde)
2015 Wrangler Toad (aka Bonnie)

At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 07:21 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,805
based on the snow in the pic and covered tires im thinking winterization is the cheapest quickest solution
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 07:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max49 View Post
A frend told me the easiest way would be to put a 2nd Thermostat just for the furnace and the other one would still control the AC, fan speed and heat pump.

Does any one what color wires would be for the furnace? Hopefully it is an industry standard.
Woo, not that I know of, I would be careful trying to do that, I never even heard of that, your going to create a short if you don't put a relay in. I wouldn't start to tell you how to do that, it would be bad advice on my part. Good luck..
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 08:35 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 9,427
One possibility would be to find a real inexpensive digital 12 v thermostat and install it with a "transfer switch" alongside your existing T-Stat.

Use a simple single pole, double throw toggle switch to switch the 12 v power from one t-stat to the other. Connect the new T-Stat to the furnace ONLY. Whichever T-stat has power will be the active one and the other can't issue "cross commands" because it has no power.

Since the new t-stat will be for hear only and most likely for freeze protection only, set it for your desired no-freeze temp. When heat/cool cycles are required merely throw the switch to the regular thermostat.

Identifying the 12 v, negative, and furnace control lines can be done by consulting the manual for the original T-Stat.
__________________
"A wise man can change his mind. A fool never will."

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 10:08 PM   #16
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 3,473
Back in the early days of space exploration NASA spent millions on the developing of a ball point pen that could be used upside down and weightless. The rooskies spent fifty cents for a box of pencils.

Think about that for a sec.
__________________
2018 Forester 3051S (aka Clyde)
2015 Wrangler Toad (aka Bonnie)

At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.