Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 03:35 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
Furnace problem

Furnace problem! The furnace just blows cold air for about 15 seconds and shuts off. Put in new thermostat to no avail...steps taken so far.

Removing fuse
Made sure batteries are fully charged

Any suggestions? It's cold!
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
paverdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 236
Hey Stormclouds...Welcome to the Forum. Tell us a little more info on the trailer.....make and model and make of furance..so we can help you get some heat in the trailer...
__________________
Dave...Northern Nevada
2018 Rockwood 8299bs
2007 GMC 2500HD Diesel SLT short bed w/gravity flow75 gallon Fuel Tank.. Cat delete
Firestone Airbag Ride Rite system
paverdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:43 PM   #3
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 15,942
Do you have propane?

Have you lit all three stove burners at the same time and verified strong flame at each of them?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel•Goodyear Endurance Tires•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '17=38 '18=49 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:49 PM   #4
Boss Ox & Drovergirl
 
oxcamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N.E. Ohio Snow Belt
Posts: 1,330
One thing is to check to make sure your thermostat is on AUTO.
__________________
Mark, Vicki, & Scout THE dog
2015 Hemisphere 282RK
2016 GMC 3500HD Duramax dually
1992 Goldwing Aspencade
oxcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 120
Maybe the sail switch? Cheap and easy to replace. Something easy and narrows the problem, access the wiring to the furnace circuit board and look for the 2 thermostat wires. Disconnect/cut where they are tied together. take the 2 thermostat wires that go to the furnace curcuit board and tie them together (this takes the thermostat and its wires out of the picture. If the furnace comes on and works properly, the problem is in the thermostat or its wiring or, it you have one, the thermostat control unit. If the furnace does not work, could be one or more of 3 things: 1. sail switch, 2. high limit (overtemp) switch or 3. the circuit board. More info, the sail switch tells the circuit board that the fan (not the blower motor) is operating and that propane and ignition can start (this fan circulates the air thru the burner and exhausts it outside). If the switch fails, the unit will never start the propane and ignition sequence. The high limit switch isa thermistor that should the burner area get too hot, it shuts the system down. If it fails, the furnace will think its be overtemped and won't do the propane ignition sequence. So, one side says you have airflow for the ignition/burn process and the other end determines if the unit is overtemping and shuts it off. All that goes through the circuit board.

I too am in the learning process. If someone thinks I am wrong, I welcome "kind" corrections. Don't need assholic remarks.

Storm"y", keep us updated please.

Signed,
Coronavirus free but old and senile.

I am going thru something similar. My thermostat with turn the AC on but not the furnace. The furnace, in my case, does nothing at all. I short the thermostat wires together and it came on and worked as advertised. My assumption is for me, it's the wiring to the thermostat, the thermostat or the thermostat control box. Just giving you some info for your mental database.
flhtci2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 04:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,076
is there a circuit board with an LED? if so the LED should flash a code that will tell you why it's not coming on. You clear the code by cycling power. the circuit board are also known to crap out.
nayther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:27 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
2010 FR Flagstaff 26rls
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:28 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
Yes strong flame in all 3
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:31 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
I have no access to circuit board
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:57 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by paverdave View Post
Hey Stormclouds...Welcome to the Forum. Tell us a little more info on the trailer.....make and model and make of furance..so we can help you get some heat in the trailer...
2010 FR Flagstaff 26RLS
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:57 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxcamper View Post
One thing is to check to make sure your thermostat is on AUTO.
Yes it is...thanks
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:58 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Do you have propane?

Have you lit all three stove burners at the same time and verified strong flame at each of them?
Yes...all 3 have strong flames
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:59 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by nayther View Post
is there a circuit board with an LED? if so the LED should flash a code that will tell you why it's not coming on. You clear the code by cycling power. the circuit board are also known to crap out.
No circuit board
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 07:00 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by flhtci2006 View Post
Maybe the sail switch? Cheap and easy to replace. Something easy and narrows the problem, access the wiring to the furnace circuit board and look for the 2 thermostat wires. Disconnect/cut where they are tied together. take the 2 thermostat wires that go to the furnace curcuit board and tie them together (this takes the thermostat and its wires out of the picture. If the furnace comes on and works properly, the problem is in the thermostat or its wiring or, it you have one, the thermostat control unit. If the furnace does not work, could be one or more of 3 things: 1. sail switch, 2. high limit (overtemp) switch or 3. the circuit board. More info, the sail switch tells the circuit board that the fan (not the blower motor) is operating and that propane and ignition can start (this fan circulates the air thru the burner and exhausts it outside). If the switch fails, the unit will never start the propane and ignition sequence. The high limit switch isa thermistor that should the burner area get too hot, it shuts the system down. If it fails, the furnace will think its be overtemped and won't do the propane ignition sequence. So, one side says you have airflow for the ignition/burn process and the other end determines if the unit is overtemping and shuts it off. All that goes through the circuit board.

I too am in the learning process. If someone thinks I am wrong, I welcome "kind" corrections. Don't need assholic remarks.

Storm"y", keep us updated please.

Signed,
Coronavirus free but old and senile.

I am going thru something similar. My thermostat with turn the AC on but not the furnace. The furnace, in my case, does nothing at all. I short the thermostat wires together and it came on and worked as advertised. My assumption is for me, it's the wiring to the thermostat, the thermostat or the thermostat control box. Just giving you some info for your mental database.
I have no access to circuit board
Stormclouds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 07:20 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormclouds View Post
No circuit board
You'll want to locate the circuit board and flashing lights, just repaired a similar situation on my rig, (los battery and sail with)
The flashing lights will help narrow down the possibilities
Number of Flashes:
1 w/ 3 second pause Air/flow limit fault
2 w/ 3 second pause Flame Sense Fault
3 w/ 3 second pause Ignition Lockout Fault
Steady ON no flash Internal Control Failure

Attaching a couple of articles that helped a little

Also good stuff from Darren at My RV Works
http://myrvworks.com


Best of luck to you man
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Coachman Heater Troubleshooting.pdf (94.7 KB, 12 views)
NorCal Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 07:41 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Foothills of Southern Alberta
Posts: 1,738
If the blower is starting up the thermostat is OK.

If the batteries are not above 10.5 volts the blower will not run fast enough to activate the sail switch. Check the battery voltage.

If voltage is above 12 volts then...
Listen for a clicking sound while the blower is operating. If the furnace fan inside the trailer is too loud go outside and listen at the exhaust for a clicking sound (igniter operating).

If there is clicking sound then the sail switch is OK, but the gas valve is not opening, could be a defective gas valve or circuit board. No clicking sound the circuit board or igniter is defective.
__________________

2007 Surveyor SV230
- 200 Watts Solar/MPPT Controller - 230 AH Battery Bank (Two-GC2) - 600 watt PSW Inverter - (2) 2000 watt Inverter Generators - LED Lighting
2009 F150 - 5.4 Litre with Tow Package

Boon Docking 99% of the time.
boondocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 08:01 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
paverdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by boondocking View Post
If the blower is starting up the thermostat is OK.

If the batteries are not above 10.5 volts the blower will not run fast enough to activate the sail switch. Check the battery voltage.

If voltage is above 12 volts then...
Listen for a clicking sound while the blower is operating. If the furnace fan inside the trailer is too loud go outside and listen at the exhaust for a clicking sound (igniter operating).

If there is clicking sound then the sail switch is OK, but the gas valve is not opening, could be a defective gas valve or circuit board. No clicking sound the circuit board or igniter is defective.

^^
X2
__________________
Dave...Northern Nevada
2018 Rockwood 8299bs
2007 GMC 2500HD Diesel SLT short bed w/gravity flow75 gallon Fuel Tank.. Cat delete
Firestone Airbag Ride Rite system
paverdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 03:13 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
Furnace fires up good but when temp is reached and gas shuts off blower fan keeps running. The only way I have found to shut it off is to pull the fuse or hit the reset switch.
Bill Broderick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 03:46 PM   #19
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 15,942
How long does it run after the burner shuts off?

The fan won't shut off when the burner shuts off because it has to cool the firebox before it can shut off. Mine runs for maybe a minute (or a bit longer) after the flame stops. It will sometimes come back on for 20-30 seconds to re-cool if necessary.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel•Goodyear Endurance Tires•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '17=38 '18=49 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 10:53 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 599
Sail switch/pressure switch. Also check your fresh air intake and exhaust outside for obstructions
Kuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.