Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2014, 10:10 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Furnace won't light!

Last night my furnace worked fine. This morning it won't light. I have propane and power. I tried turning it on and off and all I hear is a click and nothing. Any ideas?
TheHootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 259
Do you have propane at the furnace??.. Is propane getting from the tank regulator to the furnace..? If propane is getting there.. Try lighting manually ... Lighter or match... Could be the igniter is bad... Then check thermo coupler..( not even sure your furnace uses a thermo coupler).. But once they go it shuts off gas to the furnace as safety in case pilot blows out..

Good luck
__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:15 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
We have propane. We got here last night and it worked for an hour. I turned off the heat and went to bed. So it was working fine last night. When I got up it wouldn't work. I checked the fuse. I even took it completely off power (disconnected batter) and tried it again. I know I have propane, because I can run the stove top to help with heat in place of it. When I turn on the thermostat, you hear a click and then nothing. No Blower, nothing. It is a NT-30SP.
TheHootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 259
If everything else on propane is working( stove, fridge) that rules out your safety Co safety switch...but doesn't rule out something clogging the nozzle at the furnace... I would check the line at the furnace to make sure you have propane there.. (soapy water crack the fitting a bit)...If you are 100% sure you have propane AT THE FURNACE..I would then try and access where the igniter is.. I would check and see if it's actually sparking.. If not you could attempt to light it manually...

Also how long was unit not used for?? How long did it run before it shut down??You could have air in the line.. The furnace will try a few times to light..when it doesn't it shuts off the propane... ( for safety reasons just in case furnace doesn't light you don't want it to keep pumping propane)..If in fact there is air in the line it could take a while to purge...

Way it works... When heat is called for...switch opens and starts to release propane.. Igniter then fires to light propane... Igniter tries a few times ... If it lights your good to go... if not furnace shuts off gas..in order not to fill the camper with propane...
__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grn_Mtns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Northern Vermont
Posts: 101
The click could be the AC unit
I would fiddle with thermostat abit first.

So you have shore power? If voltage is too low they won't start
Good luck!



Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Best,
Grn_Mtns
____________________________________

2018 8329 SS Rockwood /260watts solar
Grn_Mtns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 259
Furnace won't light!

Try cycling the furnace off and on.. Using the on/off switch on the thermostat... To purge the line.. Understand the switch only let's gas flow for a few seconds before it shuts off... Then you need to cycle it to get it to try again...
__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 03:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,148
I had similar issue with my unit (same furnace). Here is what my issue was: the clicking you hear at the furnace is the motor relay picking up. The furnace blower should start at this point. The motor internal brushes were not making contact properly on the rotor, so I had to spin the blower manually using a short piece of wood for it to go, this was an ongoing issue until I removed unit and fix it properly. If you decide to try this, I would open front cover of furnace first, then put thermostat on heat and you will hear the "click". You need to reach in with piece of wood and spin blower fan manually, be careful as the blower will start right away if this is the problem. Blower turns toward front of unit. I have posted pictures of furnace internal components. Be careful and if you are not confident with this, then don't do it. Another way to spin blower is to use compressed air and push air through the intake air supply to furnace outside.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3879.jpg
Views:	402
Size:	364.3 KB
ID:	64493   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3880.jpg
Views:	727
Size:	291.3 KB
ID:	64494   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3881.jpg
Views:	1357
Size:	290.5 KB
ID:	64495   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3884.jpg
Views:	607
Size:	136.4 KB
ID:	64496  
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 03:33 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 23,230
If the fan does not run the heater will never light.

See attached troubleshooting guide.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Suburban Furnace 001.jpg
Views:	4907
Size:	229.7 KB
ID:	64501  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf suburbantech.pdf (804.8 KB, 388 views)
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 08:45 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 149
There is a sail switch that need to prove the fan is operating. If the voltage is to low and fan speed to low it will not allow the unit to fire, It is part of the safety circuit
__________________
Fourn3833
2008 Georgetown SE TS
2013 Ram 1500 Longhorn in tow
Fourn3833 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 10:21 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,886
Mine did similar. Like plugged and unplugged the wiring connector to the circuit board. Started working. Then it quit later and had to order board. Fixed.

Mine would click one time...that was all the noise. No fan. No igniter. Nothing. I think resetting the board involves removal of the fuse. I don't remember if you are BD or not. Disconnecting battery with shore power wouldn't do it. Unless BD


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 08:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,148
Did you ever get your furnace fixed?
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 08:13 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 91
Any luck with the furnace? I'm having the exact same problems with my suburban. Took it to camping world and they "fixed" it, but a few hours later I stopped at a truck stop and was having the same problems...turn furnace on and only hear one click then nothing. Opened up the cabinet under the refrigerator and shook the wires going into the furnace and the furnace came on. Since then I've had the same problem a few times. Seems like a loose wire internal to the furnace.
trekdave42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, light

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.