Old 02-09-2019, 03:13 PM   #1

Question Water Heater Questions

Hello guys,

I have a Cherokee 274BH, I have only stayed in it 2 weekends since I bought it 6 weeks ago. I am plugged into shore power since I leave it on a campground all the time. I am a newbe at this so bear with me. From what I understand it works off electric and gas. It has a on/off button at the water heater when you take the door off and also a button on the inside of the camper to cut it on.

I used it both weekends to shower and it worked fine. The issue I run into, the hot water doesn't last very long. I have to cut it off while I am washing. I didn't seem to have to do that when I had my GreyWolf camper. Remember I am new to this camping thing.

Should I just get used to this or is there anything I can adjust to make this any better? Will I have to upgrade the heater to have a long supply of hot water?
MICHAEL G WARREN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 03:39 PM   #2

If it is a Suburban water heater, which by your description it is, you can use gas and electric at the same time. I turn the one on outside after the water is connected and the tank is full. Then before getting a shower, turn on the gas switch inside. Then a basic Navy shower. Get wet, turn off and soap up, then turn on and rinse off. We get 2 showers done this way. Ours is a 6 gallon tank. Some are bigger at 10,12 and I think 16 gallons.
Old 02-09-2019, 03:41 PM   #3

This will make the water pressure feel stronger. Then you wouldn't have to turn it on full blast. Not having it on full blast will make the hot water last longer.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ow-177916.html

Is it very hot when you only have hot water on? Maybe you can adjust the heater so the water is warmer but I don't beleive that is a common problem.

Try not to start a shower when the water heater is heating the water.

Hope that helps.
Skip12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 03:44 PM   #4

Quote: