Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-04-2021, 12:11 AM   #1

Putting Roof Cover on Without Getting on Roof

Hi:
I have a Class C 25 foot Forest River Solera 2014 which a friend got on the roof and put a roof cover on for me this winter. A few questions, as I am new to all of this by myself. Can I take the cover off by myself without getting on the roof? I also want to keep a roof cover on when I am not traveling to keep pine needles, sap, tree branches off when it is in my driveway. Is it feasible to do this by myself , or am I being totally crazy and need to ask for help? I would really like to avoid getting on the roof, as my RV does not have a ladder attached and getting on the roof scares me. Thank you in advance for any advise. Nancy
nkarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 10:13 AM   #2

Nancy,

Been covering and uncovering my Class C for 12 seasons. Its necessary to be on the roof to take the cover off. Once, on a windy day, the cover billowed up and off the front end but I had to finish removing it up on the roof. There's too many roof protrusions for the cover to get hung up on to take it off from the ground.

After freeing the straps and buckles I find pushing the cover up from the rear over the top of the ladder to start is best. You will probably have to work one rear corner at a time up and over the rear, going back and forth until you can get it over the top of the ladder. Then, you can safely climb up the ladder to finish the job. I find pulling up the sides as you work your way to the front and rolling it forward to push it off the front works best. Don't worry about rolling it for storage up on the roof - you can do that on the ground.