Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-09-2019, 12:21 AM   #1
brand-new full-timer

peeee-yew! somethin’ smells funky and I think it’s my awning!

Long story short, we bought a used 2015 Columbus 385bh located in NY, while we were in Florida. I know. But we got a really, really beautiful camper, sight unseen aside from detailed pictures and phone calls, etc.

So - it rained for our first 4 days straight and I noticed a wet dog-like, mildewy smell coming from around our entry door. Couldn’t find it at my level and i smelled all around this thing where i could reach. It’s most likely the awning, since I’ve retracted it and it’s gone.

How do I clean it? Is there a solution (not vinegar, please) you pros recommend? I’m a total newbie fulltiming it for 8 months.

Thanks in advance!
laurlaur576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 12:50 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by laurlaur576 View Post
Long story short, we bought a used 2015 Columbus 385bh located in NY, while we were in Florida. I know. But we got a really, really beautiful camper, sight unseen aside from detailed pictures and phone calls, etc.

So - it rained for our first 4 days straight and I noticed a wet dog-like, mildewy smell coming from around our entry door. Couldn’t find it at my level and i smelled all around this thing where i could reach. It’s most likely the awning, since I’ve retracted it and it’s gone.

How do I clean it? Is there a solution (not vinegar, please) you pros recommend? I’m a total newbie fulltiming it for 8 months.

Thanks in advance!
Star-Brite awning cleaner at wall mart
or wally's world as it's commonly known as on this site.
It worked great for me.
myxkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 04:24 AM   #3