Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2016, 11:37 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
2008 CC SilverCreek Slides INOP

I have a 2008 Cedar Creek 30LSTS with 3 slides. I have it connected down from the 50A cord to a 30A down to a 15A and have an extension cord plugged into the house. I thought that this would keep power trickle charged down to the battery? I went to get in today and the lights some on (because I'm connected to 110) but the slides do nothing. No movement, no noise. I pulled the battery and put it on a separate trickle charger overnight and still nothing. I checked the slide fuse, right next to the battery and it looks good and not blown. All other fuses in the interior of the trailer appear ok, and the lights beside them are not illuminated indicating they need replaced. Any ideas?! IF I replace the battery with a new one, what's to prevent it from slowly draining and dying as well?
Trot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 11:38 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Check your circuit breakers by the battery.




2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 11:42 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
Forgive me TURBS, but I'm new to the RV realm. I only have one battery, but where in your photo would I look for the circuit breakers?
Trot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 11:43 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
2008 CC SilverCreek Slides INOP

See the red covers?
Behind them are 3 resettable circuit breakers.
Yours may look different but same principle .

2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 11:59 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
TURBS- thanks for the help and quick reply's. Sorry for making multiple posts, was in a panic moment looking for help. Will delete the others.

See my pics below. I finally found the little black reset buttons on the back of the 3 resettable fuses. Two seemed blown and I reset them and now it works great. What could cause those to blow?

Lastly, while I was in the compartment, I saw a loose wire, as if it has come loose from it's fitting. It is the female end. Could it possibly go on the male plug in the middle of the four others ? (see pic). Thats the only available slot I see...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image1 (3).JPG
Views:	82
Size:	128.9 KB
ID:	102801   Click image for larger version

Name:	image2 (1).JPG
Views:	79
Size:	112.0 KB
ID:	102802   Click image for larger version

Name:	image3.JPG
Views:	90
Size:	83.8 KB
ID:	102803  
Trot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:09 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
2008 CC SilverCreek Slides INOP

It's hard to say why they blew.
Weak breakers?
To much load all at one time?
Loose or corroded connections?


I'd say if it keeps tripping to do some investigating.


I'd say it looks as if you put the wire where it belonged.

2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:11 PM   #7
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 26,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trot27 View Post
TURBS- thanks for the help and quick reply's. Sorry for making multiple posts, was in a panic moment looking for help. Will delete the others.
The site team has already taken care of them for you. No worries.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

They say weird people are just wired the wrong way.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:11 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
Great! I'll keep and eye on it. This was the first and only time it's done it in my 30 day ownership.

What do you make of the wire that's not connected in the photos. Should I connect it to the one and only available slot?
Trot27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:19 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Unless you can't find any other possibilities of where it went I'd say yes.
Look at the spade on that relay, it should have marks where the female slid onto it before.


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:22 PM   #10
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
no! not till you find out where they go..the ones your showing have spade terminals, not eye style.. (didn't see the relay)
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:31 PM   #11
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Williston, Florida
Posts: 317
If everything else is working, I'd leave the wire disconnected. You don't know what it's for and could cause more problems if hooked up.

That type of relay is normally a spdt, one connector is NO and the other is NC. There should be a schematic printed on the relay, or get its part number and look up on line what the vacant terminal is.

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy Schnoodle & Bucky (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 12:33 PM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
If everything else is working, I'd leave the wire disconnected. You don't know what it's for and could cause more problems if hooked up.

That type of relay is normally a spdt, one connector is NO and the other is NC. There should be a schematic printed on the relay, or get its part number and look up on line what the vacant terminal is.

Rick


Missed the phrase all is working now.
I agree.
Wire has to go somewhere .
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 10:26 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Berlin
Posts: 732
Turbs if that is your unit you have good taste in batteries!!
Rich5117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 10:33 PM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
2008 CC SilverCreek Slides INOP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich5117 View Post
Turbs if that is your unit you have good taste in batteries!!


It is my unit, it's brand new.
My last unit had two group srm24 batteries that were 5 years old.

So that's what I put in the new unit.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide, slide out

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.