Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2019, 09:20 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
Blowing fuses putting slides in and out

We have a 2016 Sandpiper 35ROK that we took delivery of new in 2015. We love the RV and have had very few issues with it. The unit has hydraulic slides and 6pt auto level that work off of the same hydraulic pump and reservoir. Starting last season we started having issues with the hydraulic pump blowing fuses every time we put the slides in and out. The slides come out in order using the same panel and we started pausing for a few seconds between each slide. This helps but we typically go through a couple of fuses setting up or taking down. Just curious if anyone else has or is experiencing this issue.
The reservoirs full and we donít usually have a fuse blowing issue when using the auto level.
__________________

dave Durkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 09:25 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
nomad297's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,605
Try checking all of your slides for points that are causing excess friction while they are moving. It could be as simple as a little bit of lubrication on these friction points.

Bruce
__________________

__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond
2015 Chevy 3500HD LTZ 6.0 Crew Cab 4x4 Long Bed 4.10:1 SRW
nomad297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 09:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
koller1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jefferson, PA
Posts: 406
Is it blowing the control panel fuse or the auto-resetting (80 amp breaker) by the battery???

The slides are on a different fuse then the auto-level. What amperage fuse are you using??

Does the pump sound normal while moving the slides??

Off hand it sounds like a loose wire rubbed up against metal or is smashed against metal giving you an intermittent grounding or resistance issue between the slide switch and the pump. If you can figure out the wiring try to jumper power and bypass the switch at the pump to try it. It you don't pop a fuse then replace the wire from the switch to the pump.
__________________
Larry
2014 Ram 3500 Dually 4x4 6.7 Cummins
2017 Sandpiper 378FB
koller1509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 09:42 AM   #4
Coach
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Western PA
Posts: 667
We had a similar issue when we first purchased ours but ours only really happened during colder weather. Even though we were plugged into shore power, we traced the problem to a weak battery. Ours only came with one, so we swapped it out for a two battery set up and haven't had the issue since.
__________________
Cut it 3 times and it's still too short...

2017 Sandpiper 381RBOK
2006 Ram 3500 Cummins Dually
valleyduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 09:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 680
Large Keystone Montanas have used a 40a self-resetting fuse/breaker for the leveling and slideout systems, and both are on the same circuit. Lippert has a service bulletin indicating the breaker can be upped to 80a. Perhaps the same applies to your unit.
__________________
--2005 F350 Superduty Crewcab, 6.0, 4wd, short bed, 3.73 gears;
--2016 Montana 3711FL, 40'
--2014 Wildcat 327CK, 38' SOLD
phillyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:35 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
The fuse that is blowing is the on-line fuse near the hydraulic pump. It is a 15amp fuse that I bumped up to a 20 amp. Didnít help much, just delayed the blowing of the fuse by a bit.
It doesnít matter whether Iím on battery or shore power. The pump sound the same whether itís moving the slides or leveling the trailer.
dave Durkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:37 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by koller1509 View Post
Is it blowing the control panel fuse or the auto-resetting (80 amp breaker) by the battery???

The slides are on a different fuse then the auto-level. What amperage fuse are you using??

Does the pump sound normal while moving the slides??

Off hand it sounds like a loose wire rubbed up against metal or is smashed against metal giving you an intermittent grounding or resistance issue between the slide switch and the pump. If you can figure out the wiring try to jumper power and bypass the switch at the pump to try it. It you don't pop a fuse then replace the wire from the switch to the pump.


The fuse that is blowing is in-line to the pump. Iíve lubed the slide rails.
dave Durkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 384
I had the same issue. I went to reset type fuse and problem stopped.
__________________
2015 Flagstaff 26VFKS
TV - 2014 F150 Crew Cab 5.0L
WDH - 1,200 Equalizer
txredfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:41 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by txredfish View Post
I had the same issue. I went to reset type fuse and problem stopped.


Thanks Iíll try that
dave Durkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:47 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
NMWildcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 5,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by valleyduo View Post
We had a similar issue when we first purchased ours but ours only really happened during colder weather. Even though we were plugged into shore power, we traced the problem to a weak battery. Ours only came with one, so we swapped it out for a two battery set up and haven't had the issue since.
This^^^^^^^

Blowing fuses when operating high demand systems is usually caused by weak batteries. Doesn't matter if you are plugged in or not, it still uses your battery for these 12 volt systems which is assisted/charged by the converter. If the battery is low or has bad cells, it will cause fuse problems.

Also, auto reset fuses and resettable fuses can get weak themselves and need replacing. Not a concern with blade fuses.

We have the same systems. When I blow a blade fuse, I now know to check the batteries. Usually one is bad.

This last year I started having problems with an auto reset fuse block, not the blade fuse I was used to. Slide would come in a bit, stop. Wait a few seconds it would come in some more. Batteries were good. Rep!aced the auto reset fuse, no more problems.
__________________
Scott and Liz - Southern NM
2012 Wildcat Sterling 32RL - w/level up (best option ever)
2007 Chevy 2500HD 4dr short bed Duramax w/allison
Reese Fifth Airborne air ride king pin coupler with Sidewinder
NMWildcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
koller1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jefferson, PA
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave Durkee View Post
The fuse that is blowing is the on-line fuse near the hydraulic pump. It is a 15amp fuse that I bumped up to a 20 amp. Didnít help much, just delayed the blowing of the fuse by a bit.
It doesnít matter whether Iím on battery or shore power. The pump sound the same whether itís moving the slides or leveling the trailer.
I do the same thing when the weather is cold, but I have noticed that if you run it and stop repeatedly without enough time between it will heat the fuse and pop it as well. I wait about 30 seconds between each time and it works fine. I a, also going to switch to an auto-resetting fuse as well in the spring.
__________________
Larry
2014 Ram 3500 Dually 4x4 6.7 Cummins
2017 Sandpiper 378FB
koller1509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:14 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by koller1509 View Post
I do the same thing when the weather is cold, but I have noticed that if you run it and stop repeatedly without enough time between it will heat the fuse and pop it as well. I wait about 30 seconds between each time and it works fine. I a, also going to switch to an auto-resetting fuse as well in the spring.


Thatís what weíve come to do. We pause for 30 seconds or more after each slide has been put out or brought in. We have a 100 ah deep cycle lead acid battery that is 4 years old. Iíve been wanting to upgrade to an AGM Gel battery. Maybe this is my opportunity
dave Durkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:37 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Thurman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albany, GA.
Posts: 1,230
I would suggest that you do an amperage draw test on the hydraulic motor when it is actually running to open either slide. You will find out exactly how much amps are being used to open either slide then you can figure out 1) IF you are having a large amp draw which may indicate a motor problem, or 2) you can resize your fuse accordingly.
__________________
2015 FR Freedom Express 310BHDS pushing a 2014 GMC Sierra CC
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
koller1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jefferson, PA
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
I would suggest that you do an amperage draw test on the hydraulic motor when it is actually running to open either slide. You will find out exactly how much amps are being used to open either slide then you can figure out 1) IF you are having a large amp draw which may indicate a motor problem, or 2) you can resize your fuse accordingly.
Its the inline slide control fuse that's blowing, not the fuse for the pump. 3 different circuits, #1 pump, #2 auto-level control and #3 slide control. OP states it blowing the slide control.
__________________
Larry
2014 Ram 3500 Dually 4x4 6.7 Cummins
2017 Sandpiper 378FB
koller1509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:43 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
koller1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jefferson, PA
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave Durkee View Post
Thatís what weíve come to do. We pause for 30 seconds or more after each slide has been put out or brought in. We have a 100 ah deep cycle lead acid battery that is 4 years old. Iíve been wanting to upgrade to an AGM Gel battery. Maybe this is my opportunity
It could be the battery but if the auto-level works ok I am not sure.
Are you set up for 2 batteries??
__________________
Larry
2014 Ram 3500 Dually 4x4 6.7 Cummins
2017 Sandpiper 378FB
koller1509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:44 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by koller1509 View Post
Its the inline slide control fuse that's blowing, not the fuse for the pump.


No itís the fuse for the pump that is blowing. When this fuse is blown it also prevents the auto level panel from turning on.
dave Durkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 12:52 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by koller1509 View Post
It could be the battery but if the auto-level works ok I am not sure.

Are you set up for 2 batteries??


There is a limited amount of space, not enough room for two batteries. So no, I only have one. Also the auto level is quite sensitive to low voltage . I usually run that while Iím hooking up shore power, and it levels the coach on battery power only.
dave Durkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 01:26 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
koller1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Jefferson, PA
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave Durkee View Post
No it’s the fuse for the pump that is blowing. When this fuse is blown it also prevents the auto level panel from turning on.
You should have 3 fuses, 1 for the auto-level panel, 1 for the slide control, and 1 for the pump. If the same fuse takes out your auto-level panel and the slide it is not wired like mine. I have an in-line next to the pump for slide power, an in-line in the front compartment for auto-level power and an auto-reset for the pump. Does it blow that fuse when auto-leveling???
__________________
Larry
2014 Ram 3500 Dually 4x4 6.7 Cummins
2017 Sandpiper 378FB
koller1509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 01:30 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by koller1509 View Post
You should have 3 fuses, 1 for the auto-level panel, 1 for the slide control, and 1 for the pump. If the same fuse takes out your auto-level panel and the slide it is not wired like mine. I have an in-line next to the pump for slide power, an in-line in the front compartment for auto-level power and an auto-reset for the pump. Does it blow that fuse when auto-leveling???


It hasnít blown a fuse when auto leveling to date.
dave Durkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 01:42 PM   #20
Retired Member
 
rmwmiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lagrange Ga
Posts: 125
Can you check battery voltage while operating slides? As voltage drops amps will increase. How old is your battery?
__________________

rmwmiata is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse, slide

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


×