Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-28-2020, 08:48 PM   #1

Slide out has black sticky material

I bought my travel trailer last fall so I'm pretty new to this and l've only opened my slide out maybe 3 times and every time I retracted it the one side was always sticking and have to wait for it to unstick and fall back in place so that I'm retracting straight.

I climbed up a ladder today to have a look and took some pictures of the top of the slide out inside and from outside.

This black sticky tar like material is what the slide out is sticking too and its just on the one side. Just looks like a messy job they did and you can see it the black marks it also left on the slide out.

Can I just clean this up? If so what should I use to clean it?
Also the slide out roof has a a pocket like the rook material was not put down flat on that one side.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200428_172345.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	126.7 KB
ID:	227854   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200428_213438_388.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	282.1 KB
ID:	227855   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200428_172300.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	194.5 KB
ID:	227856  
49ersfootball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 10:29 PM   #2
Site Team

How about posting year, make and model of trailer you have since you didn't list it in your profile.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 04:22 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan View Post
How about posting year, make and model of trailer you have since you didn't list it in your profile.
Thanks for the reminder. I've updated my profile with that information.

It's a 2019 Forest River cherokee 264dbh.