Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-25-2022, 03:06 PM   #1

Slideouts won't slide

Hi Everyone,
For ten years I kept a 5th wheel at a friend's fish camp in central Florida as a weekend getaway. It never moved once it arrived. So I'm not a total newbie, but I am to camping & being on the road.
I recently bought a 2006 Forest River Salem bumper pull travel trailer I have yet to use. Bought for use as temporary living quarters in Chicagoland while helping family thru the pandemic with their business interests. We ended up renting a place instead.
So only my brother in law has camped in it with his toddlers one weekend at a campground he took it to having paid for a month. Everything worked fine when I bought it, & at the campground, & when I picked it up and towed it to a storage facility. A few weeks later wanting to use it & towing it to a location to use it - the two slides would not work.
Up to that day it was only me who would connect the deep cycle since I knew which line was the ground - two faded to pink leads being on one side and one white lead on the other.
While looking around at the destination, my boyfriend & his friend had begun leveling it. Unbeknownst to me - they also began hooking up the brand new battery only used at the weekend camping trip. So I can't say what the steps were that they took. But the slides would not move, & I don't recall hearing the motor make any noise to try to.
I went and bought a 2nd deep cycle. Still no movement.
Calling an RV Service Center & telling my tale - he explained they may have reversed polarity when hooking up the battery cables and blown the big 40 amp fuse(s) - an automatic safety occurrence to protect the other electronics.
I bought two more fuses. But when pulling the two onboard in the fuse box - they were fine, showing no damage.