Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-06-2020, 01:17 PM   #1

Question 2015 Silverback 29IK Winterize vs De-winterize: Valve positions

Hey y'all. We have a 2015 Silverback 29IK. This is my first time de-winterizing (it came winterized). As I look at the picture on the Water Heater By-Pass & Winterizing Manifold chart provided, I get somewhat confused (which is a state of mind I am usually in).

So basically, there are five "valves" in the attached chart. I am not understanding if the valve positions shown are for winterizing. So I have a few questions for you more experienced folks out there: 1. What position (open or closed) should they be all at for de-winterizing? 2. Are the positions of the valves the same for winterizing as for de-winterizing? and after de-winterizing, what should they all be returned to?

and concerning the By-Pass valve in the middle, Should it be open or closed for de-winterizing, and should it be the opposite when winterizing?
Does it ever need to be closed? Pictures attached. I know I am overthinking this, but I promise myself I will write out a detailed step by step, for next year.

Kind Regards.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	de-winterize1.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	68.2 KB
ID:	226340   Click image for larger version

Name:	de-winterize2.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	68.5 KB
ID:	226341   Click image for larger version

Name:	de-winterize3.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	145.6 KB
ID:	226342  
Old 04-06-2020, 02:34 PM   #2

Hi,

You are in bypass now, so all you have to do is reverse each of the three valves at the back of the heater.

The other two valves perform a separate function -- enabling you to draw water from a jug of antifreeze, or in the alternative, to fill your fresh tanks from external jugs/containers.

Hope this helps.
richp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 03:33 PM   #3

Quote: