Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2018, 05:44 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 2,151
50 amp ems plugged into a 30 amp outlet

I just reserved a state park campsite with 30 amp service.

As my fifth wheel is 50 amps I have only a Progressive 50 amp ems.

Can I assume I can plug my 30amp / 50 amp dog bone into the pedestal then the ems then my cord.

The ems will work that way? The Progressive site had little info on this.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 05:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tucson Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 155
That is what I do at home. Only have 30 amp service. Works out OK.
__________________
2014 Ford F450 4+4
2009 XLR 40X12
2009 RZR ready for the trail
2014 RZR XP 1000
Days Camped in '18- 106
Days Camped in ‘19- 23
Tucson Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 05:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 2,151
Thanks!

I assumed it would be ok. There would be less amps.
tomkatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 06:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BuzzWolfAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Mountain Home, Arkansas
Posts: 512
I do that frequently. No issues.
__________________
Buzz & Jo Wolf
5er: 2018 Cedar Creek 29ik
TV: 2014 F350 Diesel

BuzzWolfAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 06:26 PM   #5
Just as confused as you
 
Scrapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: south central Wisconsin
Posts: 5,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomkatb View Post
Thanks!

I assumed it would be ok. There would be less amps.

You are correct in your assumptions. Instead of 50A on each line of your service, you will have a total of 30A on both lines. You have to closely manage your amperage usage.


For more info on RV electricity see the following link. New to RV's helpful hints by wmtire
__________________
Richard & Jill
2014 Flagstaff 832IKBS Classic Super Lite
2018 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab Z71 4WD All Star Edition
Camping since 1989, Seasonal since 2000.
Car Shredder Op/Tech, Scrap Metal Recycling - retired
Scrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 01:49 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper View Post
You are correct in your assumptions. Instead of 50A on each line of your service, you will have a total of 30A on both lines. You have to closely manage your amperage usage.


For more info on RV electricity see the following link. New to RV's helpful hints by wmtire
I am hardly an electrical expert but I believe you may have 30 amps available on both lines but only a total available of 30 amps. Both lines cannot pull 30 amps at the same time. If a 10 amp load is on one line then there is only 20 available on the other line. I am sure someone more savvy than me will chime in and correct or support my comments.
__________________
Tom "Sundown" Davis
Mobile, AL
Our RV Site
Tom Sundown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 04:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 3,087
You will have less power available, of course, but the EMS will still provide protection from low volts, etc.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 04:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Apollo, PA
Posts: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucson Joe View Post
That is what I do at home. Only have 30 amp service. Works out OK.
X2.
__________________

2017 Rockwood 2703WS - Sold
2015 Keystone Sprinter 333FWFLS
2017 F250, 6.2 Gas, 3.73 Axle, 2902 lb Payload
If women don't find you handsome, at least they should find you handy!
andymil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 05:00 PM   #9
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 26,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper View Post
You are correct in your assumptions. Instead of 50A on each line of your service, you will have a total of 30A on both lines. You have to closely manage your amperage usage.


For more info on RV electricity see the following link. New to RV's helpful hints by wmtire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Sundown View Post
I am hardly an electrical expert but I believe you may have 30 amps available on both lines but only a total available of 30 amps. Both lines cannot pull 30 amps at the same time. If a 10 amp load is on one line then there is only 20 available on the other line. I am sure someone more savvy than me will chime in and correct or support my comments.
Tom, it is correct that there is only 30 amps total, shared amongst both the L1 and L2.

That is what scrapper and you are both saying when you look at what I emboldened in red for both of you.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Life is about changing perspectives and priorities: I used to worry if one of my hairs was out of place, now I don't care if they both are.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 08:12 PM   #10
Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Near Selma, Alabama
Posts: 147
Note that the dog bone adapter from the 30 amp pedestal to your RV 50 amp shore line will apply 115VAC to both L1 & L2 circuits with much less amperage available TOTAL.

On a true 50 amp hookup, each (if equipped with two) A/C units are on separate 50 amp legs of the circuit breaker. If using the adapter, do not try to use both A/C units simultaneously.

Happy camping
Johntgif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 07:21 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 397
So with that being settled, it raises another question. I currently have a 30 amp TT, considering the cost of an EMS, could I buy a 50amp EMS now and use safely with appropriate adapters? Just thinking I’d be covered if I get a 50amp RV in the future.
lewisra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 07:45 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewisra View Post
So with that being settled, it raises another question. I currently have a 30 amp TT, considering the cost of an EMS, could I buy a 50amp EMS now and use safely with appropriate adapters? Just thinking I’d be covered if I get a 50amp RV in the future.
Yes this has been covered many times! Simple "Jumper Wire" but this ONLY applies to a Hard Wired Unit,No Portable ones! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 08:54 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 3,159
this is just me so take it as such. i see this question posted repeatedly. can i buy a 50 amp ems now and use it with my existing 30 trailer as i might upgrade to a 50 amp trailer later. i agree, yes it will work. but what are you really saving? you'll pay $100 more to get the 50 amp ems. and you will need a 30 amp to 50 amp adapter to connect the ems to the 30 amp outlet on the pedestal and then a 50 amp to 30 amp to connect the 30 amp shore power cord to the 50 amp output of the ems. you could plug the ems into the 50 amp pedestal outlet but then don't expect that circuit breaker to provide any protection. you will only have the 30 amp circuit breaker in the trailer. should there be an electrical issue prior to getting to the circuit breaker in the trailer you will not have any protection. i would feel better with 30 amp on the pedestal and 30 amp in the trailer.

now if you later upgrade to a 50 amp trailer it is going to cost you some money. yes you will need to purchase a 50 amp ems. spending $400 at that time for a 50 amp ems seems like a small amount compared to what you will be spending for the new trailer. if you finance the trailer have the dealer provide a new ems and add it to the amount financed. it will only increase the payments by a few dollars.

again just my thoughts.
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 09:18 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHICKDOE View Post
this is just me so take it as such. i see this question posted repeatedly. can i buy a 50 amp ems now and use it with my existing 30 trailer as i might upgrade to a 50 amp trailer later. i agree, yes it will work. but what are you really saving? you'll pay $100 more to get the 50 amp ems. and you will need a 30 amp to 50 amp adapter to connect the ems to the 30 amp outlet on the pedestal and then a 50 amp to 30 amp to connect the 30 amp shore power cord to the 50 amp output of the ems. you could plug the ems into the 50 amp pedestal outlet but then don't expect that circuit breaker to provide any protection. you will only have the 30 amp circuit breaker in the trailer. should there be an electrical issue prior to getting to the circuit breaker in the trailer you will not have any protection. i would feel better with 30 amp on the pedestal and 30 amp in the trailer.

now if you later upgrade to a 50 amp trailer it is going to cost you some money. yes you will need to purchase a 50 amp ems. spending $400 at that time for a 50 amp ems seems like a small amount compared to what you will be spending for the new trailer. if you finance the trailer have the dealer provide a new ems and add it to the amount financed. it will only increase the payments by a few dollars.

again just my thoughts.
So If I plug the EMS into 50 amp pedestal, plug 50–>30 amp pigtail to my 30 amp shore power, the EMS won’t protect me? Just want to be clear.
lewisra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 09:51 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 3,159
it will protect you for what it was designed to do. over /under voltages and surges. they do not protect for amperage. even if they did the 50 amp ems would not take any action until either leg exceeded 50 amps. what i was trying to say was when you are plugged into a 30 amp circuit breaker on the pedestal, it will protect the shore power cable and connections into the trailer up to the main distribution box. these are rated for 30 amps. if something goes wrong with these while plugged into a 30 amp pedestal breaker the pedestal breaker will trip. inside your trailer the 30 amp breaker in the main distribution panel will protect from using more than 30 amps inside the trailer. if you plug into a 50 amp pedestal the 30 amp breaker within the trailer will still protect from using 30 amps within the trailer. but the path from the pedestal into the trailer to the main distribution box which is rated at 30 amps is now protected by a 50 amp circuit breaker on the pedestal. so conceivably you could overload this portion of the incoming circuit without the pedestal breaker tripping. this would be some form of loose connection or short prior to the main distribution panel. i agree this is probably a low probability occurrence, but what is the expected outcome should it occur?
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 02:59 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,425
If you use a "HARDWIRED 50" inside your 30 A Unit there is NO Need for ANY Adapters! Then when you move to a 50 A unit you simply remove the jumper and install the "Hardwired EMS" into the 50A unit! No need to buy/sell a 30A EMS at a LOSS then Buy a 50A EMS! They at one time had a "LIFETIME Warr" which even made it More Flavorful for the Original Owner since it was covered for "Lifetime"! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 07:37 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 397
Got it, thanks to both of you!
lewisra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 08:02 PM   #18
Just as confused as you
 
Scrapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: south central Wisconsin
Posts: 5,107
If you buy a 50A portable and plug it into a 50A pedestal you will need a 50A to 30A dogbone to plug your 30A power cable into. The only time you need a 30A to 50A dogbone is if you happen to get a site with a 30A pedestal only.


If you get a 50A hardwired EMS then you need to put a jumper from line 1 to line 2 so the current pickup for line 2 can detect power, otherwise the EMS will not energize.
__________________
Richard & Jill
2014 Flagstaff 832IKBS Classic Super Lite
2018 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab Z71 4WD All Star Edition
Camping since 1989, Seasonal since 2000.
Car Shredder Op/Tech, Scrap Metal Recycling - retired
Scrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 01:26 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 71
You can still get 50amps'ish from State Park 30amp!!!

Here is the answer - https://www.homedepot.com/p/Camco-50...FQnEwAodzF4FNg

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Camco-RV-...apter/29764592
4garylee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 01:39 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 3,159
yes that adapter would possibly help. i have never used one so i have no personal experience. the one thing that would concern me about it is how it supplies power to the two 50 amp legs. it will put 15 amps on one leg and 30 amps on the other. now if you are lucky your air conditioner will be wired to the 30 amp leg. if so it will run. but if it is wired to the 15 amp leg, it probably won't run. if you use a 50 to 30 amp adapter to convert the 30 amp pedestal receptacle to both legs of the 50 cord you will be able to run the a/c as either leg has up to 30 amps on it. but you only have 30 amps total between both legs.
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.