Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2020, 07:05 PM   #1

Battery and fridge questions (and more)-building new 388rk

TOTAL NEWBIE QUESTIONS...FIRST RV

About to order a new 388RK (formerly 38DBRK). Dealer is offering 4-6v batts in lieu of 2-12v, for $600 upgrade. Is it worth it? Not sure if wet or gel or AGM on upgrades.

Also, with the residential fridge, can I set up 6-6v in parallel (series?) to handle more load?

Will my dual 440 amp alternators on my Ram 2500 charge RV batts while under tow?

1-190 Watt Go Power Solar Panel included. should I buy a 2nd?

Is Truma instant hot water worth it?

Should I upgrade to THIRD 15,000 BTU AC?

All info is appreciated.
reg11756 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:55 PM   #2

More batteries are better. About 430 Amps for the six volts. 2 12ís are about half that. Weigh half as much.

The six volt batteries likely installed are gc2 from interstate/Costco. Cost $90 each. Typically a trailer comes with a cheap marine battery. Wet cell batteries require vented cabinet space. Not just anywhere. Six weigh a bunch. #400.

RVís with residental fridges can consume batteries quickly depending on you, the weather, etc. not a good plan for boondocking. Likely 4 sixes will not make two days. One day or less with the furnace on.

A 100-200 watt solar panel is good for keeping the batteries partially charged during the winter. At most, on the best day ever you might get 25 amps per 100 watt panel. The other 95% of the time you will get less.

Technically your alternators can recharge batteries. Actually, from the factory no. Nada. The issue is the #14 wire from the truck to the rv batteries. The line loss is substantial. You have to change wire size or something else.