Old 02-11-2020, 07:30 PM   #1

Cedar Creek Hathaway 38DBRK

Anybody else have a complete fail on the rear kitchen traveling?

Our first trip we arrived and the entire front facing pantry had come apart. Slide out drawers scattered across floor. Guides torn out hanging and bent. The debris damaged our slide before it opened far enough to see in. Cabinet walls all torn up.

And the front facing Refer close bolt system bent so unable to close refer. Also, even without the fail, the refer travel bolt had a flatbar installed behind one bolt of the refer hinges. This cocked the hinge preventing the bottom gasket on the right door to not make contact. I'm an engineer, so redesigned the refer travel lock and it worked on this trip.

We questioned the dealer when we bought it and were assured Cedar Creek had drawer slides that stopped to pevent this problem and the refer travel lock system was adequate. But this was a short trip so everything was lightly loaded. Had it been a full refer and fully loaded pantry who knows how much worse it would have been.
It's hard to believe anybody would release a trailer with this bad of a fail. Dangerous in my opinion. Did they forget to install the travel locks for the pantry at the Factory? Does your 38DBRK have travel locks on the pantry?

PeteFuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 09:54 AM   #2

How far away from the factory was your dealer location where you bought the camper? It seems these issues would have come up during transport from the factory??

2016 F350 CC Dually Powerstroke 4x4
2014 Cedar Creek 34RLSA w/Level Up
2007 HD Ultra Classic 103
SlowrideHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 10:17 AM   #3

I read this and immediately thought of my BIL's first trip in their rear kitchen unit.
Due to the kitchen being at the rear, there is a lot more movement in the kitchen area as the RV is going down the road.