Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-28-2017, 07:03 PM   #1

Hydraulic Hose - ballooned

I inadvertently found this today while dealing with another problem. I have zero experience with anything hydraulic but would appreciate any suggestions as to what may have caused this. I will be getting the rig in to the dealer ASAP to have it fixed - hopefully under the extended warranty - before heading on a four week road trip in just under four weeks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1582.jpg
Views:	257
Size:	357.5 KB
ID:	139337  

Richard & Diane
2014 Cedar Creek 38FL
2016 F350 Lariat CC DRW
Retired Metropolitan Police (UK)
Hutch333id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 07:13 PM   #2

Yikes!
Needless to say, when that pops, you are gonna have a mess. Cheap hose, blocked line?
crunchman12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 07:54 PM   #3
Mddle of the Rd Extremist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutch333id View Post
I inadvertently found this today while dealing with another problem. I have zero experience with anything hydraulic but would appreciate any suggestions as to what may have caused this. I will be getting the rig in to the dealer ASAP to have it fixed - hopefully under the extended warranty - before heading on a four week road trip in just under four weeks.
Holy cow!! Please be kind enough to share the cause with us fellow 38FL'rs so we can inspect our rigs

Thanks!
2014 Cedar Creek 38FL
2013 RAM 3500 6.7L diesel DRW Crew Cab
"When you get to the fork in the road, take it....."
MeepMeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 08:39 PM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason

That's from a poor crimp on the hose end. It allowed pressurized fluid to get under the outer jacket (not made for pressure) and swell.
Get that replaced ASAP.

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=90