Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-10-2017, 06:41 PM   #1

Hydraulic Slide Mechanisms

Had an issue with our CC 29RE slide....Went to put slide in and heard a "loud" bang...Come to find out that 3 teeth on a cog that brings the slide in had broken off.....Drivers side/chairs/stove/fridge.......
Anyone have a similar problem????
j
Jim in Halifax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 07:21 PM   #2

Jim, Bummer on the slide out issue. I have not had any problems with my slide on our 33IK. I am not a slide expert but I think the cog or rack and pinion actually just acts as a support and alignment function on a hydraulic slide. The slide is extended and retracted with a hydraulic ram and the slide rides on the rack and pinion gear. I assume your slide still extends and retracts?

I think the cogs main purpose is to keep your slide aligned while extending or retracting. Did you notice if it got out of alignment?

2016 Siverback 33IK, Towed 50K+ mile
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Crew Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 08:12 PM   #3