Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2018, 09:46 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Gsykora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 507
Phone App to control RV

We've got a 2017 CC 36CK2 5th wheel. It has the handheld remote to control the jacks and awnings and there's also the built in Android tablet in the control cabinet. I downloaded the OneControl app for my Android phone and thought i could use it to control the rv functions. However, I could never seem to get it to connect. Now I'm not even sure my trailer has "OneControl". Anybody have this same trailer and app up and running?
__________________
George & Nancy, Allen, Texas
2015 F350 CC, DRW, LB, Platinum Edition
2018 Cedar Creek 36CK2


Gsykora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 10:49 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 52
We have the same situation, but we are trying to get the remote to work at all. We followed instructions to pair it. it seemed to be done correctly. But only lights up red , when I push any button.
That phone app I tried to. I am sure there isnt wifi in the RV . Like they ask you to hook up with wifi. Does your remote work at all ?
__________________
Happy Campers
CAD-on the road again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 10:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gsykora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAD-on the road again View Post
We have the same situation, but we are trying to get the remote to work at all. We followed instructions to pair it. it seemed to be done correctly. But only lights up red , when I push any button.
That phone app I tried to. I am sure there isnt wifi in the RV . Like they ask you to hook up with wifi. Does your remote work at all ?

Yes, the remote works. I just removed and reloaded the app and see that it has a wifi and bluetooth connection option. Not sure I've tried both options. I'm heading up to the storage yard to give it a try again. I also need to check the Android tablet that's in the control cabinet. I'm pretty sure that the on/off button is broke and I'll need to get a new tablet.
__________________
George & Nancy, Allen, Texas
2015 F350 CC, DRW, LB, Platinum Edition
2018 Cedar Creek 36CK2


Gsykora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 10:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 52
I would like to just get the remote to work without the tablet for starters
__________________
Happy Campers
CAD-on the road again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 11:04 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Gsykora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAD-on the road again View Post
I would like to just get the remote to work without the tablet for starters
I hear ya. The leveler control pad on the outside of the trailer is flashing a red light (instead of green) and does not allow me to use the "autolevel" function. In order to reset it, I need to use the tablet to "abort" the error function. However, I think the tablet on/off button is broke and I won't be able to get the error cleared. I can still raise and lower the front jacks but can't autolevel the TT. Hate to have to the tablet out of a 2 month old trailer, but if that's what it takes, that's what will happen. Can we say "warranty"?
__________________
George & Nancy, Allen, Texas
2015 F350 CC, DRW, LB, Platinum Edition
2018 Cedar Creek 36CK2


Gsykora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 04:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 72
I use my iPhone and the trailer wifi with great success. To clear the red light error you will need to go into the manual to move the rear leveler legs after putting the front landing gear down.
bajamike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 04:58 PM   #7
Retired and Loving Life!
 
Alan F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Stone Ridge, Virginia and Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 308
Send a message via MSN to Alan F
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAD-on the road again View Post
We have the same situation, but we are trying to get the remote to work at all. We followed instructions to pair it. it seemed to be done correctly. But only lights up red , when I push any button.

That phone app I tried to. I am sure there isnt wifi in the RV . Like they ask you to hook up with wifi. Does your remote work at all ?


The OneControl emits itís own WiFi signal. You should be able to see it on your phone in your WiFi settings. You should see MyRV_ followed by a series of numbers. This is the signal generated by your OneControl. Once you set your password, you should be able to connect with your OneControl through your app. My instructions are inside the cabinet over the kitchen sink. Once you find yours, follow the directions, and you should be able to connect. You use WiFi signal to connect, but that is not the same as internet connection.

I like the app because I can control most everything on my phone. When I drive up to the campsite at night, I can turn the lights on from the car. I can control the generator, lights, slides, and monitor all fluid and LP levels on the app. Once you figure it out, it is really nice.
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 10:55 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Shady Shores, Tx
Posts: 8
Our CC has the same wifi setup. A fast blink on the outside on our coach only happens when the batteries are low on charge. Love the remote function...
petroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:25 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Gsykora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 507
I can see the wifi when trying to setup the OneControl but I don't currently have the password. I'll have to dig out all the paperwork and manuals we got when we purchased the trailer and see if I can find the wifi password.
__________________
George & Nancy, Allen, Texas
2015 F350 CC, DRW, LB, Platinum Edition
2018 Cedar Creek 36CK2


Gsykora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 01:46 PM   #10
Retired and Loving Life!
 
Alan F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Stone Ridge, Virginia and Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 308
Send a message via MSN to Alan F
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gsykora View Post
I can see the wifi when trying to setup the OneControl but I don't currently have the password. I'll have to dig out all the paperwork and manuals we got when we purchased the trailer and see if I can find the wifi password.
Look around for a sticker with the information. I found two - one on the back wall of the cabinet over the kitchen sink and the other loose in the freezer door. Happy hunting.
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 04:21 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Gsykora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan F View Post
Look around for a sticker with the information. I found two - one on the back wall of the cabinet over the kitchen sink and the other loose in the freezer door. Happy hunting.
In the freezer??
__________________
George & Nancy, Allen, Texas
2015 F350 CC, DRW, LB, Platinum Edition
2018 Cedar Creek 36CK2


Gsykora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 04:52 PM   #12
Retired and Loving Life!
 
Alan F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Stone Ridge, Virginia and Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 308
Send a message via MSN to Alan F
Yep, in the freezer. Itís still there, too.
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 05:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
florabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Northwest Florida
Posts: 287
About the only thing I can add is that on my wifi router is the login (userid/password) need for your smart phone connection.
For the remote device, the remote controller is located in the forward storage area (on my unit) and there is a manual you can download from LCI to re-program the remote if necessary, but I would call LCI customer service first.
With my experience the CC dealers don't know much about this subject.
__________________
2016 Ram 3500HD 6.7L CTD 4x4 CCSB
2017 CC 34RL2 Hathaway Edition
Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Hitch
Nights Camped: 2017=61
Nights Camped: 2018=25
Nights Camped: 2019=12 | Booked=6
florabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 04:55 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
DouglasReid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Maurice, LA
Posts: 3,677
This entire thread makes me happy I have a single switch for my landing gear and 1 or two boards to level side to side. Fast, Easy, Cheap and reliable!
__________________
2012 Wildcat Sterling 32RL, Gladiator Qr35 ST235/85R16 Load rating G, TST 507 TPMS w/ Flow-thru Sensors & Repeater, Reese Sidewinder 16K Pin Box, PI EMS HW50C
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD CCSB LTZ Diesel, Fumoto Oil Drain Valve, Turbo Brake activated, 39 gal Aux Tank W/ Fuel Pump transfer, Air Lift Loadlifter 5000 air bags.
DouglasReid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 07:32 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
TandSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 184
We have a 2017.5 CC 34RL2 and use the OneControl app successfully on my Samsung phone.
Unless something has changed in the last few months, the only functions CC has enabled for the system, either on phone app or the mounted "tablet", is the level feature. There are no provisions for either device to control anything else on your trailer unlike the hand-held "remote".
I do find that with wifi enabled on my phone, and within range of the trailer, I do not get cell reception.
__________________
2017.5 Cedar Creek 34RL2
2018 F-350 Lariat CC SRW PSD 4x4
USMC Fighter Pilot (Ret)
TandSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:43 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Gsykora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by florabama View Post
About the only thing I can add is that on my wifi router is the login (userid/password) need for your smart phone connection.
For the remote device, the remote controller is located in the forward storage area (on my unit) and there is a manual you can download from LCI to re-program the remote if necessary, but I would call LCI customer service first.
With my experience the CC dealers don't know much about this subject.
If you don't mind me asking, where is your wifi hub located?
__________________
George & Nancy, Allen, Texas
2015 F350 CC, DRW, LB, Platinum Edition
2018 Cedar Creek 36CK2


Gsykora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 07:08 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 186
I have a 2018 34RL2 and am not seeing a WiFi signal. I notice in this thread people with 2017 34RL2 have this capability. Does anybody know if CC did away with this function for 2018? Haven’t found the password sticker anywhere yet. Thanks.
cub22908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 07:32 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Gsykora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 507
We've got a 36CK2. I just gave up on the phone app. I could never find the wifi hub let alone the label with any kind of password. Good luck. I'd be interested to know where you find yours (if you do).:campf ire:
__________________
George & Nancy, Allen, Texas
2015 F350 CC, DRW, LB, Platinum Edition
2018 Cedar Creek 36CK2


Gsykora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 11:29 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 186
I'm thinking the option isn't there on the 2018. Sounds like a good idea but the app is really low rated so it may have become more trouble than it was worth.
cub22908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 08:50 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Shady Shores, Tx
Posts: 8
The remote on our 2017 CC 38ERK lets us control lights, awnings, slides, front legs. Problem we have is remembering to use it..
petroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.