Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-30-2016, 07:24 AM   #1

Slide seal and sealing questions

Hello!

Camper noob here with a couple questions regarding my 2014 CC.

In a few pieces of vertical seals of the slide outs they are torn. See pic:

The torn pieces are slid in place and it is possible to cut them shorter, move them up and re-attach. The weather strip extends well below the camper side wall so my thought is it might be okay to do this but wanted to check in with the group here first hoping a little wisdom could come my way. My other thought was to try to repair the tare usind an adhesive. If this is advised...which adhesive?

Question # 2 is what should be done with this? :

The exposed screw heads at the outer top of the slide flange has me thinking they need attention before I pull it out of my shop. Should I try to run the screws down? Should I just clean and top them with Dicor? Should I clean, prime and apply Eternabond?
DJNCJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 08:10 AM   #2

If it were me, I'd just replace the first example. The seals extend past the bottom of the slide cutout a bit because if it were cut flush with the bottom of the hole cutout in the side of your RV water would always wick back up the seal a bit and potentially cause problems. If part of a seal is old and tearing ... the rest of it is not far behind. Aerospace 303 helps keep rubber seals pliable and offers UV protection.
The second area of concern ... I'd clean it up ... maybe try and run the screws down just a bit more, put a small square of eternabond tape over each head, and then run another layer of eternabond the entire length of the slide.
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 04:42 PM   #3

DJNCJ X2 on what dieselguy has posted. My new Silverback has a complete run of eternal bond tape across the top of every slide from the factory.