Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2021, 10:59 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,419
Dometic A/C

My capacitor went out for my fan, it has a 50/15 in it. I couldnít fine that one I could only get a 50/5 that I installed itís running fine now but I ordered a 50/15 but it will take 2 weeks to get. Do you think I can damage my fan motor using the 50/5 until it comes in? Runs and starts fine with the smaller one, any thoughts?
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2021, 12:41 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 9,407
It'll be fine. I've seen units running for years farther out of spec than that. As long as the voltage is equal to or higher than the original.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2021, 07:48 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
It'll be fine. I've seen units running for years farther out of spec than that. As long as the voltage is equal to or higher than the original.

Okay thanks yes the voltage is the same 370. Just the MDF is less, I have a 50/15 370 V coming but it will be weeks to get. Not very common for a 1/4 HP motor but thatís just Dometic, they make everything hard. I know the fan motor is protected thermo. But my amp draw is dead on. I could have piggy back a 10 MDF to it to make the 15MDF required but the space is limited, thanks for your help
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 12:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,419
I just got the Dometic correct capacitor in. I will install it. Itís the correct size 15/50. 370 V. I canít believe the price of it 45.00, damn they rip people off.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 12:48 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Dandridge,TN
Posts: 597
and bet it was made in china right?
cfo111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 07:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,419
You are 100% correct made in China
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 07:18 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witch Doctor View Post
You are 100% correct made in China

The worst part was I called CW, they told me they donít repair ACís. They said they will only replace it, over a capacitor.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 08:27 AM   #8
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,130
I'm surprised you have a fan cap. I didn't see one in my Coleman when I installed Easystart. Just the start cap and a run cap.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 07:22 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJKris View Post
I'm surprised you have a fan cap. I didn't see one in my Coleman when I installed Easystart. Just the start cap and a run cap.

Donít know how your unit is wired, but in 20 years doing HVAC most fan motors have them. The part that surprised me was the size of it for a 1/4 hp motor most common is 5 to 10 MFD at 370V , but this one is 15 MFD, very hard to fine plus the cost of 45.00 bucks most are cheap like 10 bucks. They got you buy there design, granted I had a 5 MDF and did work but would not last long. So itís best to use the correct one. All these man factors are different being a automatic 3 speed motor might have something to do with it plus being a HP.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 10:34 AM   #10
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,130
I know my home Lennox unit has one, I had an idiot repairman tell me I needed a whole new fan. I replaced the fan cap, and was good to go! The cap was small like you said, I remember paying next to nothing for it. In the Coleman Mach VIII, the big silver run cap was right next to the smaller, plastic start cap if I recall. I did not see any other caps in the Coleman.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 11:57 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,419
Well installed the new one , everything is fine pulling the right amps And everything. The only problem was the new one was short and fat, the old one was tall and thin, it did fit after some small modifications, but itís the right MFD. why canít they send you the right part? Oh yes the new one was not made China it says made in Mexico.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 01:15 PM   #12
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,130
I'm looking at one I have on a shelf right now, about size of a pack of smokes.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2021, 07:59 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,419
It has taken a week to find out what model AC I have even with the model # Dometic is very non responsive, it came out to be a Penguin ll.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.