Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-07-2020, 10:09 PM   #1
Bilmet01

Freelander 21QB Cap Issue?

Hi. I am a newbie to this forum ( and RVing ) and put a deposit down on a 2016 Freelander 21QB today at a Campers Inn dealership in NH. Camper looks in good shape and only 2K miles on it ( not used much at all ) but had noticed a slightly uneven part of the front cap ( more noticeable in sun angle ). I mentioned to the salesman that I was concerned of a water issue ( or some other issue ) that has caused this and if is something that could get worse. He said he could have it looked at more closely when they prep the vehicle and that it may be related to the seal around the lights just above it?

Anyway, was hoping anyone of you experiended Rvers could advise if this could be a major issue for me down the road in which case I should think about avoiding going ahead with the purchase? Or else something I should demand needs to be addressed before I sign the final papers? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Freelander 21QB Cap.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	222.2 KB
ID:	233416  
bilmet01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 10:41 PM   #2

Run away. Water has gotten in front either from roof or front light.that is definitely delamination.
httntheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 11:38 PM   #3
Site Team

Yep, major delamination, most likely due to water intrusion from poor roof maintenance.
Unless the dealer totally repairs the damage and lowers the price, I'd walk away.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 09:24 AM   #4
Bilmet01