Old 05-05-2019, 01:51 PM   #1

Generator primer

Newbie here, how long do I hold the primer switch before I try to start my generator? I donít want to flood it out so I end up cranking the starter multiple times.

JWallet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 03:43 PM   #2

We all will need a bit more info to help out. You can go to the user control panel and edit your signature to include some basic info on what make and model of RV you have and any special modifications. It will help a great deal with getting you the help you need from the cornucopia of knowledge all the members here have. They are a great resource.

What is the make and model of the genset?

Old 05-05-2019, 04:23 PM   #3

2019 Coachman Freelander 21RS has a Cummins 4000 generator. No mods...
Old 05-05-2019, 09:40 PM   #4

This is from the Cummins manual and covers all RV generators:
Starting and Stopping Procedures
Your Cummins generator can be started (except 3200) and stopped from the integral control panel on the generator, or from the optional remote control panel inside the vehicle if your RV is so equipped.
**It is a good practice, before starting the generator, to turn off air conditioners and large electrical loads. If the unit has not been started in the last several hours, prime by holding the stop button on the remote start panel or the control on the generator itself. Note: Prime is available for all current production models, but may not be available on some Legacy products.

To start - Press and hold START at the interior control panel or outside the set.
- Quiet Diesel: When you press START, the control verifies several parameters, including temperature. Glow plug burn and fuel pump prime happen prior to the starter engaging. On a cold morning, first start, this ĎPrimeí could take up to 30 seconds before you hear the starter engage. This is normal.