Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-06-2021, 05:25 PM   #1

Switching from a fiver to a Class A Diesel Pusher

My wife and I are planning on switching from our current SOB 40' fiver, to a Coachmen Sportscoach 40 ish Class A Diesel Pusher. Any thoughts about the change in driving, parking, or anything else you may find helpful. I am a retired firefighter/ Driver Engineer/ Paramedic so I have experience driving large, heavy vehicles, I just don't know how a class a drives compared to what I'm familiar with.
Andy n Sherrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 08:55 AM   #2

In 2008 when I went full time, I went from 35 foot fifth wheel*to a 43 foot pusher. The first thing I said to my wife was,I've been missing a lot looking through the truck windshield. For me, I found visibility*to be much better, and set up time was a lot faster. As far as driving goes, that would depend on how your class A handles. In my case, I liked driving*the class A better......Bruce
waco kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 09:00 AM   #3

Thanks Bruce, I appreciate the input. I hope the new Class A drives nice. Looking forward to the new adventure.
Old 02-07-2021, 09:13 AM   #4

Your wife will also like the fact you don't have to pull over and get out* for a potty break, especially*when its raining......Bruce
waco kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 09:31 AM   #5
Georgia Rally Coordinator

Really a good choice but one down side is having to have a toad so you can get around once you are set up in a RV park. Enjoy and Later RJD
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing.(sold) (sold) 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 49 days camped 2021-74 2022-40 days 2023 5 days
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 09:50 AM   #6