Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-26-2015, 04:04 PM   #1

Heat pump fan cycling

It has started to cool off at night here, not enough to use the propane furnace, but enough to run the heat pump in my 2016 30ds.

The heat pump blows warm air and I can hear the compressor running so I think that part is fine.

However, the fan that moves the air throughout the rv's ducts cycles on for 7 seconds or so and then shuts off for a minute, in a repeating cycle.

The colder it is it seems that the fan runs a little longer before shutting down.

I have tried the fan selection in all speeds and auto. Opening the bypass vents on the unit doesn't seem to change anything.

Is this normal? Or a problem I could fix, or shall I schedule a warranty visit?

Thank you
Scott
patanke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2015, 05:41 PM   #2
AD2

Not that I am an expert on the unit on the fr3 but I do have 25 years of experience in the HVAC business. First blush is that the operation in heat pump mode the fan cycling could be normal for that particular unit. The cycling could be the thermostat or a discharge air temp sensor. Since you mentioned the fan stays on longer when it is colder outside, try raising the set point of the thermostat a couple of degrees and see if the fan stays on longer.

Remember the outside unit on the roof will go through a defrost cycle and since the condenser is very small it will defrost often. The manufacturer may even have the controls set so the unit heats for 90 seconds or so and then a short defrost cycle. They never let it the condenser get too cold as it could ice up and take a long time to get the condenser thawed out.

If the discharge air temp sensor is in play then when the fan comes on the sensor cools off and turns the fan off to warm the evap coil again and then repeats.
Old 08-26-2015, 05:56 PM   #3
Old Member