Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-21-2019, 12:36 AM   #1

50 amp line

Just thinking if anyone has mounted a retractable reel for the main electric cord?
Do you think that laying a reel horizontally under the compartment work?
necasperaterrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 05:00 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by necasperaterrent View Post
Just thinking if anyone has mounted a retractable reel for the main electric cord?
Do you think that laying a reel horizontally under the compartment work?
Many MH have retable reals. I'm an Electrician and would not have one. Moving electric connections are not reliable and will break at the most inconvenient time. No you can not lay it down. It would very much shorten it lifetime.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 06:41 AM   #3

...since my DEF compartment was underutilized, and plenty of space for additional storage, I simply allow the DEF tank to 'carry' the cord, winding it around it for travel.
If you leave enough to reach the wall connector, then you only have to bring out enough to reach the power pedestal when you're ready to plug in.
No more 'handling' the heavy shore cord.

Eventually, I removed the wall connection all-together, and rerouted the wall connection wiring all the way back into the DEF tank area, where it enters the coach to the ATS... now I don't even use the wall connection anymore - it's already connected, permanently.

Your Legacy may have a different DEF tank compartment design, but the Palazzo and Legacy are almost twins, so I imagine you have some options.
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 08:42 AM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post