Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2022, 03:09 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 14
Got a converter question

Attached is a picture of my converter, it currently has a 110v plug that goes from the camper to shore power, can I remove the 110v plug and replace it with a 30amp plug?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20220512-022939_Gallery.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	183.1 KB
ID:	273098  
mobilemechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 03:36 AM   #2
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 28,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilemechanic View Post
Attached is a picture of my converter, it currently has a 110v plug that goes from the camper to shore power, can I remove the 110v plug and replace it with a 30amp plug?
How about posting year, make and model number of RV this is in? Or put that information in your profile or signature.

Sent from my SM-G781U using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 04:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 4,143
Why would you want to put a 30 amp 120 volt RV plug?
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 05:34 AM   #4
ysidive
 
ysidive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Cumming Georgia
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilemechanic View Post
Attached is a picture of my converter, it currently has a 110v plug that goes from the camper to shore power, can I remove the 110v plug and replace it with a 30amp plug?
It will still be 110v unless you wire the 30Amp incorrectly. Only thing that will change is that you will be able to have 30 amp service as opposed to the current plug which is probably rated at 15amps maximu.
__________________
2018 Duramax 2500 LTZ
Freedom Express 281rlds
Days Camping 2021 46 Days
ysidive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 06:29 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 562
Other than it is only rated for 6.2 amps and probably is designed and protected internally for that?
What are you looking to gain by doing it?
__________________
Camped: 2021 (Days/Nights) - 37/29
2020 (D/N): 58/49, 2019 (D/N):27/20, 2018(D/N):24/17, 2017 (D/N):30/25, 2016 (D/N):32/23

TT: 2020 26' Hemisphere 26BHHL
TV: 2020 GMC 2500HD 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 06:52 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,546
My question too is why???

Worse case if you have a 30A only outlet plug with 120V you could use a dogbone adaptor 30A 120V to 120V plug.

__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 07:30 AM   #7
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 28,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilemechanic View Post
Attached is a picture of my converter, it currently has a 110v plug that goes from the camper to shore power, can I remove the 110v plug and replace it with a 30amp plug?

Not understanding what you are even attempting to accomplish here. Your converter is just one piece of your electrical system in an RV. Do you not have a shore power cord that feeds an electric distribution panel inside the RV? Usually a converter is just plugged into an outlet, inside the RV itself. This outlet inside the RV that the converter is plugged into, is then powered from the electric distribution panel via the shore power/cord.


Please read this thread:


https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...nt-152813.html
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Most people write congrats because they don't know the spelling of congrajulashions
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 09:38 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 139
I'd vote for an adapter. The adapter plugs into the 30A receptacle and the converter plugs into it.

This doesn't change any charging capabilities of the converter just lets you plug in if no 120 receptacle is available.
__________________
2019 Palomino Solaire 147X
2013 Ford F150
TacomaJoe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 09:59 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 5,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilemechanic View Post
Attached is a picture of my converter, it currently has a 110v plug that goes from the camper to shore power, can I remove the 110v plug and replace it with a 30amp plug?
mobilemechanic, No where do we see the make and model of your rig so that the more knowledgeably on this forum can give good advice. I've never seen a connection directly from the converter to the campground.
However, after a bit of research and if I understand your connections correctly, the simplest and cheapest solution would be an adapter from your 15 amp male to a 30 amp female like this
https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-Gener...09CS1XFWW?th=1
__________________
2015 Dynamax REV 24TB class C
Reverse_snowbird is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 11:00 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Rhumblefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Right in the Middle
Posts: 465
reminder: that device is actually 120v / 40amps.

I'm with wmtire.
__________________
2022 Rockwood Roo 235S
2017 Audi Q7 3.0 Prestige w/air (yes, it actually tows that)
WeighSafe hitch - no WD or anti-sway
Rhumblefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 11:26 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 562
No it is not rated that way.

It's 120 VAC converter drawing 6.2 amps and putting out 12 VDC to a maximum of 40 amps.
__________________
Camped: 2021 (Days/Nights) - 37/29
2020 (D/N): 58/49, 2019 (D/N):27/20, 2018(D/N):24/17, 2017 (D/N):30/25, 2016 (D/N):32/23

TT: 2020 26' Hemisphere 26BHHL
TV: 2020 GMC 2500HD 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 11:45 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Rhumblefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Right in the Middle
Posts: 465
Thought that's what I said, just short. 120v -> (12v) 40a.

Thanks for the correction, and apologies for the confusion.
__________________
2022 Rockwood Roo 235S
2017 Audi Q7 3.0 Prestige w/air (yes, it actually tows that)
WeighSafe hitch - no WD or anti-sway
Rhumblefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 04:44 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,635
Vintage

This question was pasted to the Vintage Trailerite/Collector, Retro, and Reproduction models. And judging from the converter label, it's got to be two decades old. (Our 2002 Nash uses a 30-amp plug and WFCO converter.)

I think we have guessed the real question: If the original poster (OP) goes to a campground with 30-amp outlets, how does he plug in his cord with a 15 amp plug (2 parallel blades + D-shaped ground)?

He definitely could use an adapter like this or this, if he prefers the flexible style.

Perhaps the OP doesn't realize that most campgrounds that have 30-amp outlets also have 20-amp outlets on the same pedestal which he could plug directly into. I expect that the original trailer never drew more than 20 amps.

If the OP has added a water heater with the electrical option or air conditioning or a microwave oven, then operation on a 20-amp circuit could be pushing it. In that case, an adapter for the 30-amp circuit makes sense BUT only if the power cord is AWG 10 (American Wire Gauge). If the power cord is AWG 12, then there's just one more upgrade needed. In that case, he might as well buy a new power cord with the 30-amp "crowfoot" plug and forego the adapter.

More information is needed to understand this concern.
__________________
Larry

Sticks and Bricks: Raleigh, NC
2008 Cherokee 38P: at Ivor, VA permanently
Larry-NC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 05:34 PM   #14
D W
Senior Member
 
D W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ALASKA (World's Biggest Campground)
Posts: 5,110
It's my guess that the OP's rig is a vintage model. Back in the day these models didn't have service panels for electrical service, just a wired converter/battery charger protected by an internal fuse. There was no 120V lighting, only 12V. Some had a propane lamp inside by the dining area. Water heaters were strictly propane, as were the refrigerators. They used manual screw jacks and hand crank tongue jacks. I seriously doubt there is any microwave, A/C or 110V lighting system involved or there would be a service panel. These rigs simply plugged into the NEMA-5 receptacles in the pedestal.
__________________
'07 K3500 Silverado LT Crew Duramax (LBZ)
2016 Salem 27RKSS
1984 CHEV SCOTTSDALE K20 2GCGK24J0E1XXXXXX (Chevrolet Legends-Class of 2019)
"...exhaust fluid? We don't need no stinkin' exhaust fluid"
D W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 05:53 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: 8300 Feet - Rocky Mountains
Posts: 1,926
Don't bother. A better solution is at hand.

On the label, the converter states 120 volts, 6.2 AMPS.
It also states that the 12 output can be up to 40 amps. (note that at 120 volts, that would only be 4 amps.) So your 6.2 amp, 120 volt converter can send as much as 40 charging amps at 12 volts to your battery. It can also supply the meager 120 volt loads designed into your rig. Seems about right.

In other words, the converter can't make use of a 30 amp connection.

Your rig's internal wiring, breaker and fuse panel is all designed for that level of input. Upgrading your converter/charger would be pointless, because your rig doesn't have the circuitry to make use of all that power.

So, assuming you don't intend to completely overhaul your rig's electrical system and converter, forget the 30 amp plug...EXCEPT that you might need to have this dogbone adapter for situation where the power pedestal doesn't have a conventional 15 amp outlet...where that might be, I don't know, but you might encounter such a place.

In my case, I have a 240 volt/50 amp male to 120 volt/30 amp female dogbone because some parks don't have a 30 amp socket on all sites.

At any rate, you don't need to do anything to anything other than buy the adapter for the rare occasion where you don't have a 15 amp socket to plug into.

If you intend to overhaul your rig's entire electrical system and circuitry and replace the converter, that's another discussion that needs to start by declaring that intention.
__________________
Jim & Renee
2020 Jayco Jay Feather X-213
previously 2014 Forest River/Rockwood HW 277
2006 Ram 1500 4WD Crew with Firestone Airbags
Every weekend boondocking in the National Forests or at Lake Vallecito
jimmoore13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 06:08 PM   #16
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 18,620
Back in the day, this unit was declared. Don’t know if it’s current.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilemechanic View Post
I used to travel with my parents to the Goshen rally, last time I was there was in 2019, it has been hard for me, since my dad passed away up there, y'all were real helpful for my family when he passed away, I was looking for a forest river camper, unfortunately I couldn't find one in my price range, so I own an 1981 layton by skyline, yes it's older, but it's in amazing great shape, so yes I'm a S.O.B. lol, but my goal is to own a forest river camper, I'm currently staying at the Amana rv park, so I will get to see some of y'all when y'all are here. Thank y'all
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 115/'22 = 40; Booked for 2022 = 70
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 12:23 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 14
My shore power cord has a 110v plug on it, I was looking to upgrade it to a 30amp plug, makes it safer at rv parks without that 110v to 30amp adapter, and some parks only have a 50amp plug in, so using a dog bone from 50amp to 30amp,to 110v is a hazard in my opinion
mobilemechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 12:30 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 5,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilemechanic View Post
My shore power cord has a 110v plug on it, I was looking to upgrade it to a 30amp plug, makes it safer at rv parks without that 110v to 30amp adapter, and some parks only have a 50amp plug in, so using a dog bone from 50amp to 30amp,to 110v is a hazard in my opinion
I don't think we recommended a 50 to 30 to 110. They do make 50 to 110. https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters...462733&sr=8-22

You probably need an electrician to convert that 110 to a 30 amp. While we have very knowledgeable people on this forum, you need someone who can make certain it is wired correctly. That's an older rig and it doesn't appear anyone has that collectable rig
__________________
2015 Dynamax REV 24TB class C
Reverse_snowbird is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 12:32 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 14
Yes still the same unit, slowly doing the upgrades to some of the stuff on a budget. Going to be upgrading the fusebox from glass fuses to blade fuses, and wanting to update the shore line, that why I was curious, trying to keep everything safe, gotta look out for my son and myself, as this is now our home
mobilemechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 12:34 PM   #20
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 28,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilemechanic View Post
Attached is a picture of my converter, it currently has a 110v plug that goes from the camper to shore power, can I remove the 110v plug and replace it with a 30amp plug?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilemechanic View Post
My shore power cord has a 110v plug on it, I was looking to upgrade it to a 30amp plug, makes it safer at rv parks without that 110v to 30amp adapter, and some parks only have a 50amp plug in, so using a dog bone from 50amp to 30amp,to 110v is a hazard in my opinion
Ok, this is confusing. In your first post, you have it worded as though your "converter" has the 120 volt plug that you are wanting to replace with a NEMA 30TT plug.

Now your recent post says you have a shore power cord with a 120 volt plug you are wanting to upgrade to a NEMA 30TT plug.

Are you talking only about the shore power cord, or are you also talking about the converter?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Most people write congrats because they don't know the spelling of congrajulashions
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter, question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.