Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-21-2022, 08:56 PM   #1

RV solar Upgrade for a newbie

My RV came with the Cherokee Juice Pack solar package with one 50W solar panel. The dealer did however install 2 batteries for me to extend the life a little longer.

I have done much research through forums, youtube, and articles online and am now more confused than every about solar. I am a complete noob when it comes to solar and it confuses me. I am probably making it harder than it has to be. So here is what I want to know.

They say the juice pack system is able to be upgraded am I correct. If so is there a 100w solar panel/or a few 100w panels that I can add in parallel to the current setup that would be plug and play, so that I don't have to change any of the other factory solar components?

For example would these work:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07JXYTFF7...v_ov_lig_dp_it

Also how many panels could I add and keep the factory components that came with the juice pack system?
kevinB24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2022, 11:21 AM   #2

Lots of threads on here about the Juice Pack.

https://www.google.com/search?q=Cher...iverforums.com
corn18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2022, 11:44 AM   #3

What are you planning to do, do you have enough sunlight to make this sustainable? I've lived places solar power is a bad joke and solar power production is grossly over rated as to real outputs everywhere.

-- Chuck
Old 03-22-2022, 12:36 PM   #4

I do have enough sun light. As for what I want to do, I want to get longer life off my 12v fridge, and to be able to use some outlets and stuff while boondocking. To give me more options. Not sure how much solar I would need to power things like microwave, AC, etc...
Old 03-22-2022, 01:26 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinB24 View Post