Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-23-2017, 09:33 AM   #1

Winterizing forest river patriot 26dbh

I am a newbie to travel trailers. I am trying to winterize for the cold Nebraska winter. As far as I can tell I have bypassed the water heater. My instruction manual says to put antifreeze I the fresh water tank and run the pump opening the faucets. I put 4 gallons in my fresh tank and ran the pump and... nothing. 1)The manual says to make sure there's enough antifreeze to meet the "minimum level" for water pump, but i can't find any info on what that minimum level is. Could that be my problem? Not enough fluid? 2). I thought about getting the winterization kit for the water pump to pump antifreeze right out of the bottle, but I don't know how to locate the pump. I can hear it running somewhere toward the rear on the driver side. 3) I'm going to try to attach a pic of my water heater bypass. Can someone tell me if I did this correctly?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171021_150614.jpg
Views:	263
Size:	44.1 KB
ID:	154801  
goddess330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 10:36 AM   #2

The valves look open. But the way your bypass is plumbed, it looks to be bypassed on your model. Most valves are open when the handle lines up with the pipes. Just check to be sure your heater is still empty and you're golden.

I would never put antifreeze in fresh water tank. Drain it back into the antifreeze bottles (Fresh tank should have a drain plug underneath trailer) and you are going to want to rinse that tank a few times. Next, get a winterizing kit, its not an option and very easy to install.

I have no clue where your water pump is, but if you can here it, look there. Its normally not difficult to access (Under bed, Dinette, cabinet etc.) and normally close to water tank.