Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-15-2019, 10:09 PM   #1

Wolf Pup 18TO Adequate for Fam of 5?

Hi all, I am new to the RV world and we are about to pull the trigger on our first TT. When I saw "we", I am referring to myself, wife, and 3 little ones (10, 6, 4). Being our first TT, I wanted to stay as small as comfortable, but big enough where we wouldn't be ALL over one another. While we had initially honed in on one of the many bunk house with a slide out varieties, we viewed the 18TO by chance and really liked the open layout.

Long way to simply ask, any TO18 owners here with a family of 5+? I am interested to here your feedback. Do you still enjoy the 18TO or would you have rather gone the Bunk House route?

I very much appreciate any feedback here.

Thanks,
Johnathon
Aumegrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 10:11 AM   #2

I don’t have personal experience with that model but I can tell you that we have a 26DJSE bunkhouse without a slide. We have my wife and I plus 2 kids 5 and 2 and I’m not sure I could go any smaller. I didn’t want to have to put a table or sofa down for beds every day. I also wanted to be able to have room for hanging out if the weather isn’t great.

We originally looked at the single axle bunkhouse trailers and decided we wanted a little extra space but wanted to stay below 5000 pounds due to my F150 TV. With our trailer we had all of us and another couple with 2 kids hangout most of the day with us due to bad weather and we had room. Wasn’t great but if we had the smaller trailer it wouldn’t happen.

I love our trailer. Full bathroom with shower and it’s own sink. Table big enough for 4 adults plus we have the sofa for sitting plus a walk around queen bed. It works for us. I know we could have made the smaller trailer work but if I had one more kid it would be tough. The extra space will be worth it down the road.

Good luck.