Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-09-2019, 03:49 PM   #1

Concern with refrigerator not getting cold

This is my first time using my new Dynamax Isata 4 25FW in hot weather and I'm really frustrated at the terrible cooling of the Dometic refrigerator. It's maintaining only about 60 degrees and the food is going bad really fast. Freezer appears to be working fine. I used the refrigerator over the winter in mild climates with no issues. I'm at a lose what to do now to make it cold inside.

This is now my first time taking the RV into a hotter climate. I'm currently in southern Florida and it's 85 degrees and sunny. This is also the first time using the Dometic refrigerator with the AC running too. Perhaps the rig is struggling to keep up with the electrical needs of AC and the refrigerator working at the same time? Perhaps it just runs poor in hot climates.

Is this normal or should I look into a possible repair issue?

Thank you for any guidance you can provide.

Please also let me know if your fridge works fine in the hot summer so I can better understand what is normal for an RV refrigerator.
eagle fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 03:59 PM   #2

Please post model number of your fridge. It will help members provide better feedback.
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 05:32 PM   #3

I have a Dometic DMR 702RB in my Isata 3. Do you have a display like the picture below? If so, is it in Automatic mode? Have you tried switching it to propane from Auto just to see if the propane can cool where the electric didn’t?