Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2021, 09:22 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 8
Dynamax DX3 37TS What will run on 30AMP Servicr

I have a quick question for the experts on this forum. I have a 2020 Dynamax DX3 37TS and all my trips so far have either been using my Generator or a 50 AMP Service for power. Getting ready for a trip to a State Park where there is only 30 AMP Service in June and have a 30 AMP to 50 AMP adapter that I will connect to my Surge Protector but was wondering what will not run on the 30 AMP Service. Can I run both AC's as I expect it to be warm as the State Park is in South Carolina and what are my other if any limitation with the 30 AMP Service.
mwkilmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 09:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 726
Instead of 12000 available watts you only have 3600 watts. Probably won't be able to run both AC units unless you have installed some sort or easy start kit. Maybe your unit has one of those energy management kits that will shed watts for you.
__________________
DYNAMAX 2016 FORCE HD
houstonstroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 09:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Desert Boat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Fort Mill SC
Posts: 100
Two ACs will prolly not run on a single 30 amp unless you have easy starts installed on both and don't run anything else. Even then, iffy.

Everything will run, just not at the same time or you will trip the pedestal breaker. Your 50-30 amp adapter should hook up both 50 amp coach legs to the single 30 amp pedestal leg so everything will have power.

Avoid any two big things at once: ACs, hairdryer, microwave, electric stove/oven, keurig, electric heater, etc.
__________________
2021 Isata 5 28SS with 2020 JLU Rubicon pusher
Prior: 2016 Lance 1995 / Ram 1500 Eco Diesel
2012 Lance 1575 / 2015 Jeep JKU Rubicon
Desert Boat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 09:57 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
FOURWHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,751
I've run both ACs but you're getting close when you add the fridge. I wouldn't dare start the microwave or any high loads with both ACs on.

Usually when were on 30A we run one AC and can go about life normally.

One thing to note is 50A is two legs of 110v so 100A of total power, whereas the 30A is just one so you can really start to see the difference in that light.
__________________
2016 Dynamax DX3 - Big Blue

Full-time Dynamax Resident
FOURWHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 10:29 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 8
Again as usual, thanks all for your comments. So net maybe just run one AC or if two AC's nothing else like microwave, cook top or any other appliances. So I guess during showers in morning just have one AC running as the Aqua Hot is producing Hot Water. Will update thread after trip with experiences, just need to keep Dynamax cool during the day for the two Greyhounds if we are not in the coach. Again thanks for your thoughts and experiences.
mwkilmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 10:49 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
FOURWHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,751
At the end of the day, all you're out if you go over is a trip outside to reset the breaker.

Personally I haven't had any real startup problems with ACs. I think it's been be instantaneous rating on the breaker being higher than advertised. That said its only been a handful of times I've really needed to run 2 AC on a 30A. I'd plan on 1 with the second as needed during the day and you should be fine.
__________________
2016 Dynamax DX3 - Big Blue

Full-time Dynamax Resident
FOURWHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 11:17 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 798
It's been a while since I looked into this, but for some reason I was thinking the two 110V legs were physically separated on the breaker panel and the AC connections were split across these two separate panels...meaning that, unless you rewired it, there was no way to run both AC's while connected to 30A.

Apologize if I've misunderstood (or mis-remembered) this...not trying/wanting to add confusion here.
__________________
2018 DX3 37BH
mookieblaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 11:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
KRedburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Quincy, WA
Posts: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookieblaylock View Post
It's been a while since I looked into this, but for some reason I was thinking the two 110V legs were physically separated on the breaker panel and the AC connections were split across these two separate panels...meaning that, unless you rewired it, there was no way to run both AC's while connected to 30A.

Apologize if I've misunderstood (or mis-remembered) this...not trying/wanting to add confusion here.
The 50 - 30 adapter combines the two 120v legs to a single leg so the power panel is still fully powered.

When I am only connected to a 30 amp, I have successfully been comfortable with only 1 AC running (remember the AC units are plenum attached so AC will go throughout the coach)

If it is bright sunny out and your windshield is toward the sun I suggest you put the shade up to block the heat gain.

As for the AquaHot unit you can run it on burner only while taking your luxury shower.

Another way is configure your thermostat on second AC to come on at some higher temp than the other AC for example 10 degrees higher.
Set your Gen set auto start to come on at a couple degrees below you high set thermostat.
This way the genset will start and take on load just before the second AC is required to cool the MH.

Just some ideas to make it work and protect your fur kids
__________________
Ken and Kathy Redburn
2018 DX3 37TS (The Taj)
KRedburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 11:54 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRedburn View Post
The 50 - 30 adapter combines the two 120v legs to a single leg so the power panel is still fully powered.
Good to know. I guess I never really thought it about it much...I just ass-u-med that it simply connected line 1 to single 120V leg of the 30A circuit and left line 2 totally disconnected.

Thanks!
__________________
2018 DX3 37BH
mookieblaylock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 02:02 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,999
If you are leaving dogs unattended I would only run one a/c as the dogs won't be able to do a reset if overloaded. You are running at the upper limits.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Keystone Loredo 290SRL
2019 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins crew cab
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 02:15 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
FOURWHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,751
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookieblaylock View Post
Good to know. I guess I never really thought it about it much...I just ass-u-med that it simply connected line 1 to single 120V leg of the 30A circuit and left line 2 totally disconnected.

Thanks!
Yeah you're whole panel is split into 2 legs just like at home. The 30A adapter ties those two to run off a single leg feed
__________________
2016 Dynamax DX3 - Big Blue

Full-time Dynamax Resident
FOURWHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 02:47 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 43
Pet safety

We also purchased a surge protector with an emergency power off and auto power on. That’s gives us some comfort if the pedestal side is causing problems. The auto gen start as stated above is a good idea in case all shore power is not available.

https://hughesautoformers.com/product/pwd50-epo/
Coda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 03:08 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Cover Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chardon, Ohio
Posts: 494
Send a message via ICQ to Cover Dog
When we only have 30 amp available we will run the AC during the day for the kitchen/living room area and then at bedtime shut that off and run the one in the bedroom.
__________________
Bill, Maura & Rosie the rescued Boston Terrier
2016 Winnebago Adventurer 38Q-26K Chassis...traded in 2015 Wildcat 282RKX
2014 CR-V EX-L w/Nav & Blue Ox & Ready Brute Elite

NRA Endowment Life Member, FMCA #455593, WIT #170814 & Mid-Ohio Winnies
Cover Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 03:23 PM   #14
Motorized GM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 15,291
Anything with Multi-Plex will have load shedding built in. You need to make sure you double check the panel properly shows incoming power, but it should shed loads so you don't trip the breaker.
__________________
Please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube page for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 04:35 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
DouglasReid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Maurice, LA
Posts: 3,419
Take your pics, Mix n Match:

https://www.rvtechlibrary.com/electr...eloadchart.php
__________________
2012 Wildcat Sterling 32RL, Gladiator Qr35 ST235/85R16 Load rating G, TST 507 TPMS w/ Flow-thru Sensors & Repeater, Reese Sidewinder 16K Pin Box, PI EMS HW50C
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD CCSB LTZ Diesel, Fumoto Oil Drain Valve, Turbo Brake activated, 39 gal Aux Tank W/ Fuel Pump transfer, Air Lift Loadlifter 5000 air bags.
DouglasReid is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dx3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.