Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2022, 12:35 AM   #1
Member
 
FORCE of Nature's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Bucks County North of Philadelphia
Posts: 84
Force HD Rear Thermostat doesn't control furnace, or isn't working?

I do not get any feedback from the furnace in my Force HD when trying to use the rear thermostat. I can hear the thermostat clicking, so the trigger wire is likely not hooked up, or came undone from its connection?? I know that some of the Force HDs have 2 furnaces as well. I also read that this MIGHT be a normal condition based on another Force member saying it was the same way. I guess I am wondering if this is indeed normal, or if there is any way to hook it up.

If normal, and not a loose or missing connection, I saw this post about a Force with two furnaces that had the trigger wires flipped flopped where Front T-stat was working rear furnace and vise versa.
https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...ns-201938.html
If the rear thermostat trigger wire is indeed not utilized, could it be spliced into the working trigger wire at the 9 pin harness allowing both front and rear thermostats to work the same furnace? Or is this some dual zone voodoo witchcraft? With the pocket door at the kitchen turning the rear bath/bed into a suite it would be nice if we did not have to heat all the air in the front of the coach and try and guess where the bedroom will land with heat.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Furnace Triggers.PNG
Views:	37
Size:	204.9 KB
ID:	268145

Thank you kindly
__________________
2022 Force HD 37TS
---- FORCE of Nature ----
22FT Full Tilt PJ Trailer for the Toad and Toys
11FT Triton ATV Trailer / Artic Cat SXS
Retired: 2011 Dutchman Aerolite/2015 FR Heritage Glen
FORCE of Nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 09:21 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
milkman55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Posts: 1,792
All the Isata 5’s have one furnace and it’s only controlled by the front thermostat. Both thermostats have a “gas” setting, but the rear thermostat does nothing on this setting. I would expect the single furnace Force models are wired the same.
__________________
2021 Isata 5 30FW
2014 Honda CR-V
milkman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 09:26 AM   #3
Member
 
FORCE of Nature's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Bucks County North of Philadelphia
Posts: 84
Appreciate the reply and further likely conclusion it's just the way it is. It's by no means a deal breaker, just thought it would be convenient and wanted to verify
__________________
2022 Force HD 37TS
---- FORCE of Nature ----
22FT Full Tilt PJ Trailer for the Toad and Toys
11FT Triton ATV Trailer / Artic Cat SXS
Retired: 2011 Dutchman Aerolite/2015 FR Heritage Glen
FORCE of Nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 09:53 AM   #4
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 16,863
You can't really have two thermostats operating a single furnace.

On the specs, we call out which models have (2) furnaces. (BD and KD). The TS only has a single 40k.

Once of the things I thought I changed, was adjustable louvers on the heat grills. We may have only done that to the bathroom...but you should be able to throttle the heat like a house and get to a little more balanced by adjusting the outlets.
__________________
Please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube page for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 11:12 AM   #5
Member
 
FORCE of Nature's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Bucks County North of Philadelphia
Posts: 84
Thanks for confirming Brian. I was making adjustments to the water pump last night and noticed the heat ducting was making some less than desired bends and kinks. I suspended the ducting with some mountable zip ties and it flows much less restricively now. I think with the improved flow to the bedroom might even help now too. The back room was not getting to temp in tandem with the front larger room previously.
__________________
2022 Force HD 37TS
---- FORCE of Nature ----
22FT Full Tilt PJ Trailer for the Toad and Toys
11FT Triton ATV Trailer / Artic Cat SXS
Retired: 2011 Dutchman Aerolite/2015 FR Heritage Glen
FORCE of Nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 11:24 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
KRedburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Quincy, WA
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclemens View Post
You can't really have two thermostats operating a single furnace.

On the specs, we call out which models have (2) furnaces. (BD and KD). The TS only has a single 40k.

Once of the things I thought I changed, was adjustable louvers on the heat grills. We may have only done that to the bathroom...but you should be able to throttle the heat like a house and get to a little more balanced by adjusting the outlets.
I thought the DX3, Force, XL use the AquaHot. BC is this no longer true?
__________________
Ken and Kathy Redburn
2018 DX3 37TS (The Taj)
KRedburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 12:23 PM   #7
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 16,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRedburn View Post
I thought the DX3, Force, XL use the AquaHot. BC is this no longer true?
It was actually never true.

Force - LP Furnace, always has been
DX3/XL: Aqua-hot (at least since I have been here)
__________________
Please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube page for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 08:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 87
We had the same problem with our previous coach (SOB). It had a Suburban furnace. I used a residental thermostat to control the furnace from the bedroom. With a Suburban, all you have to do is to connect (short) the two blue wires and it will fire up with all of the safety systems intact. Just leave the main thermostat off.

If you have an Atwood, then I don't know.
steadfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 08:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Invisibleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 674
The Force is propane. If I ordered an XL i would order it with propane. It's my heat of choice as a 50% plus boon docker. The furnace works off the front thermostat. I haven't seen documentation that explains that and at first I was confused, like you. I am sure if I am mistaken BC will surely point it out.
__________________

2021 Force 37TS (Detroit DD8)
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
2020 Isata-5 36DS (traded in)
Invisibleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 11:15 AM   #10
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 16,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisibleman View Post
The Force is propane. If I ordered an XL i would order it with propane. It's my heat of choice as a 50% plus boon docker. The furnace works off the front thermostat. I haven't seen documentation that explains that and at first I was confused, like you. I am sure if I am mistaken BC will surely point it out.
XL does not have an option for an LP furnace.

Aquahot is diesel, runs off the 100 gallon fuel tanks, it is also zoned. bedroom, living room, utility bay.
__________________
Please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube page for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 11:55 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Invisibleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 674
Interesting. Maybe available as a "custom," order?
__________________

2021 Force 37TS (Detroit DD8)
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
2020 Isata-5 36DS (traded in)
Invisibleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2022, 12:30 PM   #12
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 16,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisibleman View Post
Interesting. Maybe available as a "custom," order?
Negative.
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.