Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2022, 04:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
ablarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 223
Generator keeps shutting off?

2022 DX3 37BD
Generator shuts off intermittently. Checked oil and itís within range.
Batteryís all show fine on firefly.
No codes on firefly.

There was a wire that was unplugged on the inverter. I plugged it back in. It was either the remote or batt temp plug. I donít remember as they are both side by side.

Any ideas?
ablarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2022, 04:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
nvs4602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 843
What's your fuel level? They will not run if fuel tank is too low. 1/4 tank if I remember right.
nvs4602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2022, 05:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ablarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvs4602 View Post
What's your fuel level? They will not run if fuel tank is too low. 1/4 tank if I remember right.


Itís at about 1/2.
Iíll try to pull over and fill up to see if that solves it. Thanks.
ablarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2022, 11:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvs4602 View Post
What's your fuel level? They will not run if fuel tank is too low. 1/4 tank if I remember right.
Also, aren't dash gauges notoriously off, and sometimes by a wide margin?
__________________
2023 Dynamax Force 34KD
-Demco Air Force One
2005 Toyota Tacoma 4x2 Crew Cab
-Demco Air Force One
-Remco 2pc Drive Shaft w/Disconnect
-Blue-Ox Avail Tow Bar and Baseplate
NewToTheForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2022, 11:55 AM   #5
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 17,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewToTheForce View Post
Also, aren't dash gauges notoriously off, and sometimes by a wide margin?
yes, but normally the opposite way. (shows low when it is not).

Possibly it is low enough that sloshing drops below the take up tube? (at least that is easy to test).

No faults or anything else?
__________________
If "Search this Forum" does not yield an answer, please post questions as a "New Thread" (instead of sending a private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only.

Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube page for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2022, 11:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ablarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 223
Topped off the tanks and it hasnít shut off since. So, either the tube is mounted very high which would be weird I think or it was purely coincidental 🤷🏼*♂️
ablarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2022, 02:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ablarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclemens View Post
yes, but normally the opposite way. (shows low when it is not).



Possibly it is low enough that sloshing drops below the take up tube? (at least that is easy to test).



No faults or anything else?


Itís back to shutting down. I stopped and checked fault code and itís reading

Fault code 27

Any ideas?
ablarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2022, 02:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
cmulvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Copperas Cove, TX
Posts: 206
This may or may not be much help but a quick search on your fault code provided the following;

"Code 27 is a voltage sense fault meaning that the controll is not reconizing AC voltage being produced. Could be caused by bad brushes, bad wire or connection, A! controll or even the rotor or stator."
__________________
Christian M
2021 Forest River Forester 3011DS
cmulvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2022, 05:18 PM   #9
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 17,447
Someone else had this code either on FB or this forum....I think they finally got it resolved, but I don't recall the outcome. I would search this forum for that fault code.
__________________
If "Search this Forum" does not yield an answer, please post questions as a "New Thread" (instead of sending a private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only.

Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube page for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2022, 10:32 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 5
This happened to mine as well. Same code. It was the bedroom firefly remote that was bad - at least thats what the dealer said. We removed that bedroom remote from the firefly system and haven't had the AC issue since. Waiting on a replacement remote now.
TridentDynamax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.