Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-15-2018, 11:45 AM   #1

Help! Gravity toilet backed up after 2 nights

On our maiden voyage with our new Isata 5 30 fw. Love it so far, BUT, a totally of gross thing happened and we are at a loss. We are out here 2 nights. Went to use the BR and the gravity toilet is backed up with toilet paper and poop. After 2 nights! Sensor reads 1/3 full. I stuck my hand/arm down there (I'm a nurse, used to having my hands in crap, don't get distracted) and dislodged a plug of grossness but I can still feel a lot of stuff in the tank immediately under the toilet. Sensor still reading 1/3 full even though it seems totally full, which is impossible after only 2 nights. It's a gravity toilet. Wtf? Are we not flushing with enuf water or what? We are using septic safe Charmin. Too thick? HELP!

Along the same vein, I'm used to cleaning the toilet with a hose and wand but this thing has a black water flush. Can someone explain how it works? The tech kind of explained during pdi but I don't really remember and now its urgent that we get this taken care of when we dump today.

Thanks!
Windsurf-mobile for us
LandKKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 11:56 AM   #2

If you don't flush with enough water in the bowl you will get a mountain of poo and paper pile up directly below the toilet opening. Your black tank flush is to be used when or after dumping at the dump station to clean out any leftover solids that remain in the black tank. You should ensure your black tank is fairly full of liquids before you dump.
Old 04-15-2018, 11:58 AM   #3

Not enough water.
Pee, light flush
Poo lots of water. Septic safe TP only
Never NEVER wipes of any sort.
Start with a couple gallons of water in the tank.
Never dump until at least 3/4 full.
Now to your current problem.