RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2020, 09:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 8
How to use my on board generator for my race trailer

Nub question. Can I get power from my DX3 to my new race trailer. I have a 30í vintage outlaw. It have a 50 amp shore power input on the outside of the trailer.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EB55EAC1-BD15-4E55-BA08-45E27CFF6A1C.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	412.5 KB
ID:	243525  
nomadrvjeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 09:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Webefine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 404
I did in my 2015 DX3. I didnít do it for a race trailer but what I did should work for your race trailer. I put a sub panel in right after my transfer-switch and installed a 30 amp breaker with a 100í 30 amp power cord that I use to power another RV while boondocking. I have used this setup on multiple occasion and it has work great.
Webefine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 09:10 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
FOURWHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,626
You'd need to wire an outlet to plug it in. Either from the panel or add a sub panel somewhere inline to the feed coming from the ATS. Either way, some electrical work would be in order.
__________________
2016 Dynamax DX3 - Big Blue

- Traveling the country in our DX3 for the next year
FOURWHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 10:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jpheifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bettendorf Iowa
Posts: 316
I wired a outlet into the hitch on the back of my dx3 it has a weather proof cover to cover it when not in use or during rain - I have it wired to my main breaker box and itís on itís own breaker - hope this helps
__________________
Joe Pheifer
DX3
Jpheifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 09:36 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 951
You wrote, "It have a 50 amp shore power input on the outside of the trailer." Did you mean you have a 50 amp input on your MH? Also how much power do you want to have in your trailer. If only for lights, a fan, or even smaller power tools you could just plug an extension cord into the outside GFCI outlet of your MH.
markb422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 09:59 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,405
Maybe don't need it but also realize you will not get a typical shore power 50amp(100amp total) input to the trailer because the genny has a single phase output.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, trailer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.