Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2017, 08:39 PM   #1

Is a Dynamax Isata 5 in my future?

Hello all,

The wife, 2 dogs and I have been RVing for about 3 years since we retired. We started out with a 2012 Newmar Dutchstar 38. We really liked it except for it being a bit too large for many state and national parks plus it only got 6 MPG.

We decided to downsize, sold it and bought a Roadtrek CS Adventurous with solar and lithium batteries for more boondocking. While the mileage is great at 16+ MPG, it's pushing the limit to pull my Jeep JKU Wrangler and with 2 people and 2 dogs it gets a bit cramped inside.

So now we're like Goldilocks with the class A being too big, Class B too small, will a class C be "just right"

The Jeep weighs over 4500# so I want tow capacity to be 7000#. We live in Florida and have already done 3 trips to the west coast and are planning another plus thinking about a trip to Alaska.

So this brings me to looking at an Isata 5. I had a 2004 Ram 2500 CTD that I had for 200k miles. Sold it to my brother who put another 100k on it, still has and it is still going strong. Except for ball joints, a water pump (DIY for $40 )and routine maintenance it has been trouble free, so another Ram would be a plus.

Can you tell me why you bought an Isata 5? What else did you consider? We're trying to look at one but nobody in the area has one in stock. We hope we don't have to wait until the Tampa RV show in January to see one in person.
Slolane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 11:52 PM   #2

We just bought ours, 35DB. Excellent unit! We traded a Jayco E450 class C for similar reasons, we wanted towing capacity without getting something too big. We pull a Ram 1500, about 5300 lbs.