Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-23-2022, 03:13 PM   #1

Isata 3 - Anderson Valve - “City” Selection

On our recent trip, I connected the Motorhome to city water and turned the Anderson valve to the “City” (6 o’clock) selection, however I forgot to actually turn on the hose spigot. My pump switch was still in the on position.

Much to my surprise, water from the tank was still flowing from the faucet (when it was turned on) via the pump.

Is this normal?

Although I have never tried this before, I just assumed the Anderson valve needed to be in the “Normal” (12 o’clock) position in order to pump water from the MH tank using the water pump.

As soon as I opened the water spigot and turned the pump switch off, the city water flowed per usual.

Thanks!!!
jneum525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2022, 03:53 PM   #2

I think it's normal. I vaguely remember making that mistake once. In fact, I didn't discover it until the middle of the night when I washed my hands and heard the pump turn on. Twasn't pleasant to go out in the middle of the night to turn on the spigot.
Old 05-23-2022, 11:32 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverse_snowbird View Post
I think it's normal. I vaguely remember making that mistake once. In fact, I didn't discover it until the middle of the night when I washed my hands and heard the pump turn on. Twasn't pleasant to go out in the middle of the night to turn on the spigot.

Thanks …snowbird. I guess we both stumbled upon that. Just makes me wonder why the “normal” position even exists since the “City” selection appears to be a dual purpose selection.
jneum525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2022, 11:23 PM   #4

These are rvs. I gave up looking for logic in the way the components work long ago.
Old 05-25-2022, 10:16 AM   #5
Commercial Member

Quote: