Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2021, 04:31 PM   #1
Norwood Auto Italia

Isata 5 & 15 amp GFi Shore Power?

The storage building shore power, 15 amp outlet I have been using for the last 8 years to power an Outback 3000w I/C and a Triplite 2000w I/C will not connect to the Isata 5 28SS Explorer without popping. I know the connector cable works (2 long term recent uses with RVs and I believe the outlet is ok as it powers 2 1500w heaters without popping - so what's the unique set up in this rig that makes it pop even without battery or solar power being switched on?

I suspect the answer - will be the same as I have read in my Searches, no one knows but: get another outlet; get another connector; RVs GFi's inherently conflict with shore power GFi; Remove the Gfi and take the "fry risk"; get a 30 or 50 amp installation. Actually I do not buy any of these because they are guesses like I am doing here and an electrician is going to need significant expertise to diagnose the wiring and internal resistances of all the Isata 5 installation, an expertise I would not know where to source. I might be able to payoff an electrician to swap out the GFi but since I am a tenant, there is no chance that a 30/50 amp install would be allowed.

So I believe my only other alternatives are to (a) run the AGS for a couple of hours a day and fill the building with CO during the process; (b) drill into the battery compartment which is inside the coach and route a Li charger to protect the Li from discharge to zero in below 45* temperatures. Even with the battery disconnect, the residual draw in about 300 mah, promising effective discharge over 5 days. I sampled this off the main power cable from the battery pack.

Can anyone suggest another alternative?
vlamgat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2021, 06:25 PM   #2