Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2022, 11:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 1
Unhappy No power to GFI plugs

We are on a 50a RV spot and when we run on generator we aren’t getting power to our plugs. We are in a 2023 Dynamic Isata 5 28ss and despite many of the plugs having a GFI sticker on them … none have the GFI reset button. Any ideas on what might be causing the issue? Tried resetting breakers, no fuses blown. No idea if there is a master GFI reset button somewhere

Thanks all
Oliver
OllieRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 12:04 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by OllieRob View Post
We are on a 50a RV spot and when we run on generator we aren’t getting power to our plugs. We are in a 2023 Dynamic Isata 5 28ss and despite many of the plugs having a GFI sticker on them … none have the GFI reset button. Any ideas on what might be causing the issue? Tried resetting breakers, no fuses blown. No idea if there is a master GFI reset button somewhere .

Thanks all
Oliver
Most GFI outlets with reset button are in bathroom near sink. May also be in the wet bay (if you have one).
__________________
"A wise man can change his mind. A fool never will." (Japanese Proverb)

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 12:14 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 7,280
I'm confused. Your in a 50a spot and you're running on your generator? Is your rig 30a or 50a?
Does this problem happen when you're plugged in?

Welcome to the forum!
__________________
2015 Dynamax REV 24TB class C
Reverse_snowbird is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 07:46 AM   #4
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,257
Hopefully someone with a similar rig will see this and tell you where the outlet with the reset button is located! It IS there somewhere!!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
2016 Evergreen Everlite 242RBS
29' empty nest model. Blue Ox WD hitch
(1 queen bed, large main cabin and huge bathroom)
Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-41, 2021-49, 2022-43
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 08:39 AM   #5
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 16,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by OllieRob View Post
We are on a 50a RV spot and when we run on generator we aren’t getting power to our plugs. We are in a 2023 Dynamic Isata 5 28ss and despite many of the plugs having a GFI sticker on them … none have the GFI reset button. Any ideas on what might be causing the issue? Tried resetting breakers, no fuses blown. No idea if there is a master GFI reset button somewhere

Thanks all
Oliver
Reading this sentence makes me believe that when using shore power, everything is OK... is that correct?

If so it sounds like you have a generator electrical supply issue and not an outlet or GFCI issue.

Your rig has what's called a transfer switch that transfers the electricity from either shore power to to the generator and your generator has a circuit breaker on it to protect from overloading the circuits. These items both come into play when using the generator.

I would start by looking at these two things. Just a note: it has been often documented that on certain models of generators, the circuit breaker can be hard to see and reset.

If your outlets don't work on shore power, then the advice to find and reset the GFCI are valid.
__________________
2022 Cedar Creek 345IK 5th Wheel•Solar & Inverter•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '18=48 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=112 '23=32
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 09:38 AM   #6
Norwood Auto Italia
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Montana & TX
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
Hopefully someone with a similar rig will see this and tell you where the outlet with the reset button is located! It IS there somewhere!!
Its on the 120v panel as others have written. I have the same rig and I can run the generator and shore power simultaneously and often do before I disconnect shore power. This is necessary because I do not have the uprated I/C that would handle both ACs for a short period.

However I have been warned and concede that quality of the Transfer switch is not what I am used to on my 2006 Renegade and its probably going to fail if I do this often. I do it all the time ion the Renegade (10 years) and also on the Born Free (7 years) so the likelihood of failure is the continuing reduction in component quality by the Chinese manufacturer.
__________________
2000 Sportsmobile E350 EB
2006 Renegade/Peterbilt K1854 and T1220
2021 Isata 5 28SS Explorer
vlamgat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 12:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
KRedburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Quincy, WA
Posts: 1,355
Have you checked the circuit breakers on the generator?
__________________
Ken and Kathy Redburn
2018 DX3 37TS (The Taj)
KRedburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 03:50 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,767
Do you have a surge protector in line? Some generators have a floating ground that doesn't allow the power thru the surge protector into the rv. If this is the cause you need a dummy plug with the white common wire and ground wire tied together.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 10:11 AM   #9
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 17,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRedburn View Post
Have you checked the circuit breakers on the generator?
^^^^this^^^^
__________________
If "Search this Forum" does not yield an answer, please post questions as a "New Thread" (instead of sending a private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only.

Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube page for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 10:31 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Tarpon Springs FL
Posts: 1,357
NO GFCI reset but has sticker...
means there is a main GFCI protecting every outlet

can be at the panel OR the first outlet is the main and will have a reset


--------------------------------------------------------------
generator ... not sure you can investigate if your generator is bonded and causing the GFCI to read a neutral imbalance


https://www.google.com/search?client...e+gfci+breaker
__________________
Tarpon Springs FL
2022 Salem 24RLXL
Aussieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 09:48 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Invisibleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 759
You probably have GFCI circuit breakers. Check your circuit breaker panel. The circuit breaker is the reset.
__________________

2021 Force 37TS (Detroit DD8)
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
2020 Isata-5 36DS (traded in)
Invisibleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 10:14 AM   #12
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,257
It appears that Ollie only visited the site on that one day. 12/3 Hopefully they figured it out and are enjoying their new rig!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
2016 Evergreen Everlite 242RBS
29' empty nest model. Blue Ox WD hitch
(1 queen bed, large main cabin and huge bathroom)
Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-41, 2021-49, 2022-43
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 03:02 PM   #13
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 17,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
It appears that Ollie only visited the site on that one day. 12/3 Hopefully they figured it out and are enjoying their new rig!
lol....came here just to say the same thing. We are troubleshooting with ourselves at this point.
__________________
If "Search this Forum" does not yield an answer, please post questions as a "New Thread" (instead of sending a private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only.

Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube page for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 04:29 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Invisibleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 759
__________________

2021 Force 37TS (Detroit DD8)
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
2020 Isata-5 36DS (traded in)
Invisibleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
no power, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.