Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2020, 06:12 PM   #1
TRN
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 61
Pioneer head unit install

I have a pioneer double din radio (AVH-2330NEX) that looks like it will fit in the slot with some work. I've looked for a universal adapter for the M2 106 but everything I pull up looks quite different from what is actually in my 2015 DX3 (see below). Anyone have a source for a universal connector?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200601_170138.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	238.3 KB
ID:	230370  
__________________

__________________
2015 DX3 37TRS - Brutus
B'ham - or at a racetrack
TRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 08:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
halla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 2,661
I cut off the wires from the factory head unit and soldered it to the connector, couldnt find one to match.
__________________

__________________
2018 Dynamax Force HD BH---Just Rite-2
halla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 07:15 AM   #3
TRN
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 61
I was hoping not to have to cut them, easier to return the old stock unit before I trade or sell in a few years.
__________________
2015 DX3 37TRS - Brutus
B'ham - or at a racetrack
TRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 08:02 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 89
I don't know about an adapter, but if you do splice into the wires I recommend posi-tap connectors. No cutting of the wires and easily removable in the future.
hinkle_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 12:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 37
Crutchfield. Com

Give Crutchfield a try. If they don't have it, it's probably not made.
corky310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 01:42 PM   #6
TRN
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 61
Nothing at Crutchfield.

I was able to track down the connectors, they are Molex MLX series (50842122). I was able to order the connector as well as pre-crimped wire leads from Mouser. Should be in on Thursday.
__________________
2015 DX3 37TRS - Brutus
B'ham - or at a racetrack
TRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 03:28 PM   #7
Consumer of Space
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 247
I think I have the part number on a sticker. Not sure if its from Freightliner or Dynamax. I'll take a picture when I get home.

Turns out that I am in the process of changing the radio and have everything apart...
__________________
-----------------------------
2018 Dynamax Force HD 37BH
sconnors11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 09:13 PM   #8
2018 Dynaquest 38TS
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 106
Just replaced mine. Like halla said you have to cut and splice the wires.
DR Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 05:05 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
DouglasReid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Maurice, LA
Posts: 2,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRN View Post
I was hoping not to have to cut them, easier to return the old stock unit before I trade or sell in a few years.
I suggest you call the Tech Support people at Crutchfield.com

They specialize in this sort of thing, If an adapter is made they probably sell it and can help.

If they do not then Id suggest solder and heat shrink, the problem will be to determine which wire goes where
__________________
2012 Wildcat Sterling 32RL, Gladiator Qr35 ST235/85R16 Load rating G, TST 507 TPMS w/ Flow-thru Sensors & Repeater, Reese Sidewinder 16K Pin Box, PI EMS HW50C
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD CCSB LTZ Diesel, Fumoto Oil Drain Valve, Turbo Brake activated, 39 gal Aux Tank W/ Fuel Pump transfer, Air Lift Loadlifter 5000 air bags.
DouglasReid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 08:28 AM   #10
TRN
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by DouglasReid View Post
If they do not then Id suggest solder and heat shrink, the problem will be to determine which wire goes where
Parts are already on their way from Mouser electronics. Yes, will solder and heat shrink as I usually do. All the information is already provided on the back of the old head unit. If the parts I've ordered are correct, I don't this this will be too tough.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200601_163017.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	354.4 KB
ID:	230531  
__________________
2015 DX3 37TRS - Brutus
B'ham - or at a racetrack
TRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 03:59 PM   #11
Consumer of Space
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 247
Here's a picture of the label on the wiring harness, radio side of the connector for future reference.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6077[1].jpg
Views:	10
Size:	240.4 KB
ID:	230845  
__________________
-----------------------------
2018 Dynamax Force HD 37BH
sconnors11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 08:56 AM   #12
TRN
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 61
I was at the race track this weekend, so did not get a chance to install. However, the molex mlx connector I mentioned above is the correct adapter to hook into the wiring harness of my 2015 DX3, so I will not have to cut any wires on the coach side. Wires on my radio side are already cut, time to do some soldering. Hope to get that done this week.
__________________

__________________
2015 DX3 37TRS - Brutus
B'ham - or at a racetrack
TRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


×