Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-07-2018, 10:44 PM   #1

Truma switch question

I'm still learning how to turn things on and off. I'm not quite up to speed on the TRUMA. I turn the switch on the Truma (outside behind the cover) to 'On' up or down doesn't matter? Then power up on the Hot Water Heater on the 'Precision Plex', then go to the round wall switch in the bedroom, rotate the switch up to one of two on settings? Do I then 'push' on the center of the round knob to actually activate the switch? If I do, sometimes it lights up, sometimes it doesn't. Am I doing all this the correct way?

Newbie with Truma...
Days camped 2021 = 25
caseymyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 09:05 AM   #2
Commercial Member

1. Just leave the multiplex side on ALL the time. That is first...that just says "OK, go ahead and provide power to the water heater". I am having this taken off of multiplex. The thought was we would eventually control through there, but Truma has no interest in opening either architecture to the multiplex guys.

2. Turn on the switch at the water heater (outside). Leave that on ALL THE TIME,unless you are going to store the unit for long periods of time.

3. finally use the rotary switch for day to day operation. It is a "accelerometer" switch...or something like that (I forget the term they used). So there is not really a "contact-contact-contact". So sometimes, if you lose power, the switch forgets where it was. So, if there is an issue. turn it off. Turn out outside power off. Then turn back on outside first (like a reboot). Then turn the dial to Eco-Or comfort. Being that there is no "contact" spots...that switch can be a little touchy.