Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-20-2016, 11:34 AM   #1

Lightbulb 2401R MBS Weights

I'm new to this vehicle but after reading it does not seem like there is any way to load it with anything other than air. Can anyone help me understand this UVW of 9852 lbs and the GVWR of 11030 lbs and GCWR of 15250 lbs. When my vehicle is rated with these numbers does it mean that this is taking into consideration for loaded propane tanks and fuel and water as well? just doesn't seem like I can carry anything yet I have a ton of storage space. Can someone with real RVing experience shed some light on this with
WILLMCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 06:53 PM   #2

I have the same unit. That all we have is 930 lbs. Water, Food, Clothes, dogs and Human
raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 06:56 PM   #3

The payload is very limited

The CCC (cargo carrying capacity) of our 2015 Forester MBS 2401R is about 925 pounds - according to the FR placard on the inside of the drivers door. My understanding is that the "empty" weight of the vehicle includes full propane and full diesel fuel, but no water. So anything you add - food, clothes, stuff and water - all come out of the CCC.

These vehicles are exceptionally limited on their weight carrying ability. You are correct, there is a ton of storage, but unless you are carrying helium balloons - you can easily overload the MBS chassis.

We use our Toad (2015 Honda Fit) now as "trailer' to carry tools (needed for inevitable repairs), hanging clothes (somewhat limited space in the MH) and for other heavy items like full coolers and bottled water.

We are also going to add the Alcoa aluminum wheels (all 6) to eliminate another 100 pounds of vehicle weight. Some folks have removed the glass shower door and/or the partition door between the rear bed area to eliminate additional weight.