RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 11-28-2020, 01:35 AM   #1

My Lithium upgrade Experience

Lots of stuff out there. Lots of incomplete, dated materials on the web, and stories about installs on other platforms.... Lots of acronyms that aren't explained... I'm no expert, but maybe my experience can help others. 4 photos attached.

I've got a Forest River Forester 2401WS on a 2016 MBS Sprinter Chassis. I knew I needed a Battery Monitor System (BMS) after some trashed Lead Acid batteries left us high and dry last fall in Yosemite. It's a long drive to buy batteries from Yosemite.. It's been so long since I added water to batteries, I let them go dry ;-(. "Doing it right" with Lead Acid seemed a challenge, Lithium seems much simpler. And the cost of getting it wrong is being w/o power at Yosemite when it drops into the 40s at night....

We like to boondock, so went in whole hog, got 2x 100ah BattleBorn batteries. I got the Li upgrade for the converter, since the '16 did not have the PCB switch. Also, got the Victron BMV-712. Asked the nice folks at Battle Born if that was all that was needed, and they said 'yes' in a very reassuring and confident way. Hey, they're salesfolks, and I just gave them over $2K..

Installing the new output stage of the converter was straight forward. Some documentation would have been nice, but there was little room for error.

Next was the battery swap. The old Lead Acid batteries came out fine, and the new Li batteries fit well. But the terminals have a different orientation, and bolts.

Group 27 batteries apparently have a standardized 5/16 lug, so the cables on the Forest River all have 5/16 lugs. Obviously.